Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-07, 06:15 PM   #13
theteamaqua
Registered User
 
theteamaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash
I got an E6320 and a QuadGT to play with. It looks like this particular chip has a 3465MHz limit.



It does 3150MHz without vcore increases fine. 3465MHz takes 1.53v to hold. I got the QuadGT plus the E6320 to build a second rig. I wanted 3.5 out of it and I guess I am not that far off.

I decided to try my E6600 in the QuadGT and was able to cold boot this-



I've booted the E6600 up to 3.9GHz on the QuadGT and it will do that on any mobo with the right voltage. I am testing with regular Win XP and two sticks of ram to make sure I don't gimp my OC. I'll try 4 x 1GB and Vista later.
what did i say? luck of draw

it dpeends on ur setup as well .. PSU+motherboard+bios effects OC heavily .. RAM dont do much since u can just lower it and do relaxed timing

not many 6320 can do 3.7GHz .. let alone 3.7GHz orthos stable for 8 + hours
__________________
omg bbq rig
theteamaqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 06:17 PM   #14
theteamaqua
Registered User
 
theteamaqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Damit ... how the hell are you all gettting such nice overclocks on the E6600 with so little voltage. I am at 1.425 Volts just to stay stable above 3Ghz!!
i hear u man , but when most people say "i need 1.45v to get 3.6GHz stable" .. they prolly get those vcore from speedfan/everest ultimate

which means they prolly set 1.45+0.5v = 1.5v in bios and droop to 1.45v during load

1.5v bios = 1.47v idle = 1.45v load .. thats pretty much teh same for most boards ... with 0.1v fluctuation.. osmetiems some board get more some board get less


the only boad i know of overvolts is the Asus P5W64 WS PRO .. which ovevolts 0.05v so when u set 1.45v it gives u 1.5v ...
__________________
omg bbq rig
theteamaqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 07:10 PM   #15
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

Well my QuadGT is a brick now.

It would not install Vista from an IDE DVD drive no matter how I tried. I had it set to IDE and "UDMA if possible" etc. It would not do it from Win XP Sp-2 in windows or from booting with the DVD. The window that has language options and the command to install would never pop up. Yes, I tried the latest Jmicron driver.

So I decided to upgrade the BIOS. I set everything to stock then tried to flash. It froze and crashed half way through the process. I've been building my own systems since 1994 and this is the first time one has done that. Now it is a pretty little brick with flashing blue lights.

Ah well I wasn't too crazy about it anyway. It "squealed" with vcore of 1.45v and above.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 07:16 PM   #16
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Damit ... how the hell are you all gettting such nice overclocks on the E6600 with so little voltage. I am at 1.425 Volts just to stay stable above 3Ghz!!
Yes, it is indeed luck of the draw or the particular chip.

Mine does 3.6GHz Orthos blend stable @ 1.45v and 3.7GHz @ 1.55v. It will do up to 3.2GHz on stock volts.

Some people are saying the latest E6600 don't OC that well, and I wouldn't know. I do know the new chips run cooler. My E6320 runs 10C cooler under load and idle than my E6600 @ the same clock. More specifically I mean speeds that don't require extra Vcore, ie 3.0GHz.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 07:57 PM   #17
Vagabond
Real World Labs
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 132
Send a message via ICQ to Vagabond
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

Its not about how high you can go rather than how many degrees you want your rig at.
Thus the 6320 will need a monster of cooler to keep it bellow 60 degrees even at 40% load at 3500mhz+.
I have my 6600 running at 3530mhz at 1.37v and it wont get above 47-48degrees running 3 orthos because i not only have the Scythe Infinity with 2x12' fans in push and pull config but also a 12' Aluminum Fan attached on the left side of the Tower throwing air onto the Scythe Cooler.
And why shouldnt someone get the 6600 for 230$ and choose the 6320 for 180$ ?
Vagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-07, 11:15 PM   #18
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by theteamaqua
i hear u man , but when most people say "i need 1.45v to get 3.6GHz stable" .. they prolly get those vcore from speedfan/everest ultimate

which means they prolly set 1.45+0.5v = 1.5v in bios and droop to 1.45v during load

1.5v bios = 1.47v idle = 1.45v load .. thats pretty much teh same for most boards ... with 0.1v fluctuation.. osmetiems some board get more some board get less


the only boad i know of overvolts is the Asus P5W64 WS PRO .. which ovevolts 0.05v so when u set 1.45v it gives u 1.5v ...
Ya.. mine is set at 1.45V in the BIOS.... runs at 1.425 idle and 1.408 as the lowest under full orthos Small FFT stress. I guess I just got one that does not OC very high on lower voltage. I notice I can run 2.9Ghz just slightly above stock voltage and once I start to get above 3Ghz is requires loads more voltage just to creep up 100Mhz at a time. I'll stick with my current OC and call it what it is. At the new prices I might just pick up another for fun and see if I can get a better OC'er
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-07, 03:17 PM   #19
SOAD
Registered User
 
SOAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rep of Ireland
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: E6320 @ 3780MHz

3.7ghz orthos stable.

Look in my other thread
SOAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.