Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-07, 09:50 AM   #1
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default vista standalone or dual boot

I am considering installing vista once my 8800 gets here. What do you suggest, install vista over my XP professional or do a dual boot??

I want to try out the Directx 10 demos and everythng, but the one game I am playing right now, LOTRO is supposed to have issues with vista...
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 11:28 AM   #2
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

Do dual boot.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 04:34 PM   #3
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

I'd go with dual boot. That's what I'm running currently. XP with Vista x64. So far I haven't actually had to resort to XP for any games. I only need it for 3D CAD programs that don't work in Vista yet.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 05:09 PM   #4
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

i'm planing on upgrading to Vista ultimate 64bit, i will go with a clean install no dual boot.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 05:12 PM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

Im running a single OS, Vista 32 Ultimate. Its stable and the only game that has given me issues so far is System Shock 2.... its completly unplayable now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 06:08 PM   #6
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Im running a single OS, Vista 32 Ultimate. Its stable and the only game that has given me issues so far is System Shock 2.... its completly unplayable now.
How do you play system shock 2 now?

I was just curious.

It always disturbs me when something doesn't work.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 06:09 PM   #7
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

I'm running Vista Home premium 64bit stand alone.

Absolutely zero regrets.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 06:10 PM   #8
kevJ420
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NN VA
Posts: 1,155
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

Dual boot. I think a good combo would be xp32 and vista ult. 64.

One for compatibility and one for the future.
kevJ420 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-16-07, 06:42 PM   #9
DoomUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to DoomUK
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

Dual boot.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo | Asus A8N-SLI SE | 2GB Kingston HyperX DDR400 | Leadtek 8800GT ZL 512MB | Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat' | Creative Inspire 6.1 | 200GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 500GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 180GB Hitachi Deskstar PATA | 19" AG Neovo F-419 | OCZ PowerStream 600W | WinXP Home SP3 | WinVista Ultimate x86 SP1
DoomUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 06:55 PM   #10
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

I should also point out that if I didn't have to use 3D CAD programs (solidworks and inventor) then I would not be dual booting. I would be running Vista x64 by itself. So if you don't need XP....I would go just Vista.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 07:36 PM   #11
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

looks like 8800 and Vista is not the best combo for LOTRO, so I guess I will keep XP for now. Only reason I am even considering Vista is for Halo 2 and Lost Planet Demo that came out yesterday. Otherwise, I am just happy with XP.
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-07, 07:38 PM   #12
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: vista standalone or dual boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevJ420
How do you play system shock 2 now?

I was just curious.

It always disturbs me when something doesn't work.
I don't.

Wish they would have released the Dreamcast version, then I would have an option to play the game still. Gonna build a Windows 98 rig I think...
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Install MDK9.0 on Asus a7n266-vm succeds but won't boot fierywizard NVIDIA Linux 2 10-06-02 06:53 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 11:39 AM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 09:23 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 01:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.