Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-07, 10:45 AM   #13
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Here is a deal.

I use Vista X64 edition 4x1Gb setup + 2gb Ready Boost. System screams.

NF590 SLI boards support 4x1Gb setup with no problems. No FSB reduced, and memory runs at full speed.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 10:54 AM   #14
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

It's so cheap to buy RAM now, why not if you have x64? Go for it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 10:59 AM   #15
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Yap. Newegg was selling GSkill DDR2-800 5-5-5-10 2x1 Gb kits for $85. The memory is damn good.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 03:17 PM   #16
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
No, XP does not run better with more than 2GB of RAM. You'll barely notice any performance gain from 2GB to 4GB. In fact it may run slower. Vista 32-bit with 4GB may give you BSODs and memory dumps.

Try X-Plane with 2gb, then try it again with 4gb and come back and say that. Sure, the OS was only seeing 2.8gb, but with only 2 sticks (2gb), X-Plane gets pretty deep into your swap file. The difference is very noticable too.

I've never run into any problems with 4 sticks (4gb) in Vista32 either, but I do currently have a problem with 4gb and Vista64 and my X-Fi. It is a known issue and Creative says it will be fixed with the next X-Fi driver.

Also, you should not advise anyone to run with 3 slots since you lose the performance of dual channel.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 04:58 PM   #17
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slammin
Try X-Plane with 2gb, then try it again with 4gb and come back and say that. Sure, the OS was only seeing 2.8gb, but with only 2 sticks (2gb), X-Plane gets pretty deep into your swap file. The difference is very noticable too.

I've never run into any problems with 4 sticks (4gb) in Vista32 either, but I do currently have a problem with 4gb and Vista64 and my X-Fi. It is a known issue and Creative says it will be fixed with the next X-Fi driver.

Also, you should not advise anyone to run with 3 slots since you lose the performance of dual channel.
I tried running 4GB in XP- from a gaming and general usage point of view- there was absolutely zero performance gain. In fact, it did run slightly better with having only 2GB of RAM in my rig.

For any 32bit OS, I never recommend more than 2GB. For 64-bit OS, I typically say "The more the merrier".
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 08:41 PM   #18
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
I tried running 4GB in XP- from a gaming and general usage point of view- there was absolutely zero performance gain. In fact, it did run slightly better with having only 2GB of RAM in my rig.

For any 32bit OS, I never recommend more than 2GB. For 64-bit OS, I typically say "The more the merrier".

Maybe you didn't run anything that exceeded 2gb. I'm not even saying I advise anyone running a 32bit OS to go get 4gb, but I am saying it ran fine on my system, and I also saw some benefit with some games and apps.

Oh well, I guess we all have different experiences with this stuff.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 08:45 PM   #19
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

What is X-Plane, lol? BTW, 3GB is known to be running fine with Vista 32. Youd don't have a problem with 4GB does not mean others won't get BSOD's with physical memory dump.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-07, 10:09 PM   #20
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

And just because you got BSOD's does not mean everyone else will.

I wasn't trying to start anything with you, but advising someone to run 3 sticks in a dual channel capable mobo just to reach 3gb is a little bit silly, especially when you already said that nobody will see any gains beyond 2gb installed.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-07, 10:47 PM   #21
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slammin
And just because you got BSOD's does not mean everyone else will.

I wasn't trying to start anything with you, but advising someone to run 3 sticks in a dual channel capable mobo just to reach 3gb is a little bit silly, especially when you already said that nobody will see any gains beyond 2gb installed.
I didn't get BSODs because I don't use 4GB of RAM with my Vista Ultimate 32 bit, but lots of other people get them if you just read around the net. And when did I say "nobody will see any gains beyond 2GB" in Vista 32 bit? I was referring to XP because you mentioned XP performance.

And you do realize that the OP is actually using Vista Business 32 bit, not XP SP2, right? And my advice is stick with 2GB, but if you really want more RAM, use 3x1GB for better overall latency. If you want higher bandwidth, going with 2x1GB + 2x512MB will be the better method.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 12:07 AM   #22
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Stop. You are smarter than I.

Bye.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 05:23 PM   #23
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,721
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

Hmmm... so its probably a waste of money at this point? I don't plan on moving from Vista 32-bit to 64-bit untill all the drivers are cleaned up and its as smooth running at 32-bit Vista (which runs great for me).
__________________
Intelģ Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 460 1GB GDDR5 (Currently @ 835MHz Core / 4200MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 06:59 PM   #24
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: 4gigs.... worth it?

It is worth it ,not really with a 32bit OS ,I have 4 gigs and I still think things loads faster,My Os just sees 2.75gig ,but ram has come down in price so much ,it is a good time to buy another set ,you may want to go to a 64bit OS.You might want to build another system or one of your sticks might go bad.But the reason I would get another set is the price.You can get 2gigs of PC2 8500C5 Dominator for $214,that about $150 less then what I paid for my set.Plus you can get the CORSAIR XMS2 2GB PC26400C4 for $159 a set.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flame's crypto attack may have needed $200,000 worth of compute power News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-11-12 09:40 PM
Water cooling, is it worth it? VoltFox CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-28-02 03:53 AM
AthlonXP 1700 to 2200: is it worth it? Gator CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-06-02 02:45 PM
Is the GeForce 4 Ti still worth buying? netape NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 51 09-05-02 10:53 PM
Is AGP 8x worth the wait? nvnews-reader CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 08-11-02 03:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.