Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-07, 02:32 AM   #1
sezor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Question 6200 on Win98se, "Windows protection error"

Good day all
Can anyone suggest why I'm getting a "Windows protection error. You need to restart your computer" message on shutdown (but not on reboot). It started after after installing a 6200 on Win98se.
Instead of the Win logo, the screen goes black and there's a white blinking cursor somewhere on it, + sometimes a "press any key" message and chaotic graphics. All this in white text on a black screen. On restarting, sometimes scandisk runs automatically, sometimes not.

I've removed the line:
display.drv=NVIDIA GeForce 6200
from c:\win95\system.ini - as recommended at
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/835571/en-gb
I've also cleaned up drivers in safe mode.

Amd Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0 ghz. Nv-81.98_forceware_win9x_english.exe driver
Same problem on two different mobos:
- MSI K8mm3 mobo with integrated VIA/S3G UniChrome Pro IGP Display adapter
- Asrock k8upgrade-nf3 nForce3 250
sezor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 03:17 PM   #2
123@345
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Wink Re: 6200 on Win98se, "Windows protection error"

For the VIA chipset i can say that u need to Install Latest VIA Hyperion Driver including the "Install AGP " before installing forceware drivers. Don't worry that AGP driver is a bridge driver and not the actual one. After installing it then start to install forceware drivers.
123@345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 03:35 PM   #3
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: 6200 on Win98se, "Windows protection error"

With an Athlon 64 why would you even dare to use Windows 98?
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 02:58 AM   #4
sezor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6200 on Win98se, "Windows protection error"

Quote:
Originally Posted by 123@345
For the VIA chipset i can say that u need to Install Latest VIA Hyperion Driver including the "Install AGP " before installing forceware drivers. Don't worry that AGP driver is a bridge driver and not the actual one. After installing it then start to install forceware drivers.
Thanks, the via drivers are shrouded in mystery. But I'm on the nForce mobo now. I'll probably try an older driver ..
Junja
sezor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 02:59 AM   #5
sezor
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6200 on Win98se, "Windows protection error"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
With an Athlon 64 why would you even dare to use Windows 98?
No harm in speed.
Don't worry, 98's not the only OS I use, but it does some things the others don't.
sezor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-07, 01:39 AM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: 6200 on Win98se, "Windows protection error"

As for as i know there are no 6200 windows 9x drivers for these cards. they don't have any .inf files you will need an inf to support it.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.