Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-07, 04:52 PM   #1
Hambone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 260
Default 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

I hadn't even noticed memory prices were like 1/2 price since earlier in the year. My memory is crapping out on me (Crucial Ballistix DDR2-1000). It started a long time ago. I had to go down to 800Mhz and that's been fine for the last 3 months but now I'm seeing memory symptoms (crashes, BSOD's that say things like "memory pool"). I just upped the voltage a hair and put a crab cooler over the sticks to get me by until a mail order comes in.

I want to say Crucial sucks (again) but it's probably my fault as I went across the timing settings at 800 and 1000 when I first got the RAM to see what it would do - and pushed it to failure several times. I probably did some damage. I was suprised to see that even with a great overclock on the timings at most you squeeze maybe 8fps more out of something like the HL2 stress test. Now I'm of the opinon memory overclocking isn't even worth it... to much risk for such tiny gain potential.

-----
Anyway (OS question) - I'm not ready for Vista x64 yet but I might as well get 4GB now while it's so cheap.

I know I'd be looking only 2.5G - 3.5G getting used until I just to Vista. I haven't seen many games actually peak used RAM above 2.0G thouh so even another 500MB available would probably be enough for months...

I was just curious if there's anyway to see Vista's addressing overhead that comes off the top of the 4GB ahead of time. There has to be something that adds it up...
Hambone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 05:55 PM   #2
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

Well u can use 3.2 ~ 3.4 GB of the RAM. It's a limit of 32bit OSs
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 07:52 PM   #3
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,721
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

I have 4gigs in my machine now... Vista 32-bit reads it as 2.93GB... runs great and does make some difference believe it or not. Vista itself seems smoother and it seems to really have smoothed out FSX too. Plus this way when I try out 64bit Vista I will be ready
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 460 1GB GDDR5 (Currently @ 835MHz Core / 4200MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-07, 09:03 PM   #4
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

Video card memory and all system devices consume part of the 4GB address space, so how much RAM you see under a 32bit OS depends on how many devices you have in you system, and how many video RAM you have. For me with 2 768MB video card SLI, I'd definitely see less than 2.5GB.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-07, 05:00 PM   #5
Hambone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 260
Default Re: 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

I've tried looking around and I can't find anything. It really isn't a big thing at all but it seems like someone somewhere would have made a simple tool to show you what the addressing overhead is on your PC. The information has to be just sitting there. A simple tool to say "2.6GB is the maximum this system will have available with current devices (overhead)".

I found this nice article while browsing around. It actually says the max potential of Vista is 3.2GB (hard limited) - I've read the range can go up to 3.5GB so I guess that was faulty info.

http://www.dansdata.com/askdan00015.htm
Hambone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-07, 09:13 PM   #6
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

I just upgraded to 4GB and ran into this issue on Vista 32bit. My bios only read 3008MB and I had 3007MB usable in windows.
I then found a memory remap option in my bios and once enabled the bios picked up all 4GB, but windows only had 2GB In the end I ended up doing a clean install of the 64bit version and with the remap option I have full use of my 4GB. Seems a lot snappier and it runs just as stable as my 32bit install
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-07, 09:44 PM   #7
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 4GB on 32b Vista - Anyway to see the overhead before buying?

I just put another 2GB into my system last night, and XP SP2 reads 2.75GB and 2.83GB in Vista Ultimate 32-bit.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.