Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-07, 02:08 PM   #49
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvin Presler
"The company providing the ad system does not and will not store any personal information or data that otherwise can be used to identify you. All they track is if and how long you look at the advertisements."

So much for this game. I won't be buying it now. This is bullshoot. How could they know what we look at and how long? Maybe I am laying around with a sniper rifle and the ad just happens to be in my line of sight? I'm not paying for any game that has an ad server attached to it tracking anything I do in a freaking game. That right there tells you there is extra performance killing code in the game for ads alone. It has to write logs or something to send to the ad server, plus the bandwidth, and worse stuttering and delays you can bet your arse it will cause while waiting for the ad server to respond with your freshly customized new Viagra!!!1 ads.

Man, one very promising new game ruined. They may as well slap Starforce, Bonzai Buddy, a keylogger, and Gator spyware right in there with it.
It is not going to cause any performance issues, the overhead on that type of thing would have to be ridiculously minimal.

Not sure if you noticed, but most websites have ads, and most of those ads have trackable click-through data. This is really nothing different.

I fail to see how this is even remotely similar to a keylogger. Privacy issues are a big deal and Activision would not even go near anything that entrudes on privacy at all.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 02:16 PM   #50
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Personally I refuse to play any games with ads unless the ads make the game free or very cheap (e.g. $20) upon release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
It is not going to cause any performance issues, the overhead on that type of thing would have to be ridiculously minimal.
Well not really. How is the game supposed to know whether or not you can physically see the ad? The line of sight, the angle, objects in the way, distance, etc. For most of the line of sight, angle vs distance, etc you can do with simple trigonometry. But with objects in the way it gets a bit more complicated CPU side as you now can no longer rely on the driver to handle the clipping. That gets even uglier when you have e.g. alpha blending, fog, lighting, etc.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 02:58 PM   #51
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Don't worry Elvin Presler. Wear this and you shall be protected from the evil ad rays QW:ET emites.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 03:05 PM   #52
Gabrobot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 141
Default Re: In-game advertising in Quake Wars...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
Well not really. How is the game supposed to know whether or not you can physically see the ad? The line of sight, the angle, objects in the way, distance, etc. For most of the line of sight, angle vs distance, etc you can do with simple trigonometry. But with objects in the way it gets a bit more complicated CPU side as you now can no longer rely on the driver to handle the clipping. That gets even uglier when you have e.g. alpha blending, fog, lighting, etc.
Don't forget the game already figures out what you need to see so it can load things (textures, including the ads) into memory. All you have to do then is see if it loaded an ad into memory. No overhead, no spying.
Gabrobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
(Wired) From Final Fantasy to Star Wars, E3 Brings Next-Gen Game Graphics News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 06:40 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.