Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-07, 10:00 AM   #1
S.W.A.T.
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 52
Default win XP SP2??

what does service pack 2 do? i wanna know before i isntal it because it might stress my computer a little more.
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!
[CPU] Intel ATX E6600 CORE 2 DUO /2.4GHz/4MB CACHE/1066FSB/LGA775 Batch: L709A156
[Mem] DDR2 Twin2X 2048MB 240-pin DDR2 XMS2-6400
[GPU] Leadtek WinFast GeForce PX8800GTS 320MB
[Mobo] Asus P5B-Deluxe-WIFI 775, CORE2EE, P965, 1066FSB
[HDD] Seagate SATAII NCQ 320GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache <-----Soon
PSU 500W +12v = 32A
S.W.A.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 10:31 AM   #2
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: win XP SP2??

- Adds all the patches prior to the release date of SP2 in one big update
- Adds new security center to XP
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 11:01 AM   #3
spaceigg
Consacrated Slacker
 
spaceigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 278
Default Re: win XP SP2??

if your computer is the one on your signature, then there is no reason to worry about SP2 stressing your system... SP2 should actually make it run better and more secured.
__________________
C2D E6400 stock speed
BFG nForce680i + BFG 8800 GTS 640MB GDDR3
2 gb DDR2 667 system memory.
spaceigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 12:27 PM   #4
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: win XP SP2??

I wou, cuz of dual core and besides, SP1 didn't support it right anyway.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 12:55 PM   #5
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: win XP SP2??

Wait, you're not running SP2 yet? Just install it.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 01:19 PM   #6
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: win XP SP2??

No worries, S.W.A.T., just install it.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-07, 02:16 PM   #7
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: win XP SP2??

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.W.A.T.
what does service pack 2 do? i wanna know before i isntal it because it might stress my computer a little more.
Have you seriously not installed it?!?! Do so, ASAP.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 01:26 AM   #8
S.W.A.T.
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 52
Default Re: win XP SP2??

nah i will instal it when i get a new hdd. right now i got 80GB hdd so no space.
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!
[CPU] Intel ATX E6600 CORE 2 DUO /2.4GHz/4MB CACHE/1066FSB/LGA775 Batch: L709A156
[Mem] DDR2 Twin2X 2048MB 240-pin DDR2 XMS2-6400
[GPU] Leadtek WinFast GeForce PX8800GTS 320MB
[Mobo] Asus P5B-Deluxe-WIFI 775, CORE2EE, P965, 1066FSB
[HDD] Seagate SATAII NCQ 320GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache <-----Soon
PSU 500W +12v = 32A
S.W.A.T. is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-25-07, 05:59 AM   #9
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: win XP SP2??

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.W.A.T.
nah i will instal it when i get a new hdd. right now i got 80GB hdd so no space.
you cant make room for 500 megs?....just wow...wow...
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scan Your PC For A Chance To Win A Custom-Painted PC! News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 04:00 AM
Win XP SP1 - One month review?? DadGT Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 8 10-13-02 09:39 AM
GF4 Nvidia Driver 2960, Win TV Problem, Freeze titan3025 NVIDIA Linux 5 09-06-02 07:12 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.