Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-07, 04:25 PM   #13
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3NZ0
8, yes it is and fsb depends on board and cooling.
I thought the multi was 9 same as the Q6600
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 06:12 PM   #14
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Wait a month until the Q6600 is only $266.
Well, that's to distributors in quantities of 1000, so retail would probably hover around $290 or so. That's still a steal. I'll probably snatch one up and maybe get a nice P35 board. This DS3 has been great, but I'd really like Intel RAID so I can get Linux going properly.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 07:03 PM   #15
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

I want the chip that will provide the highest usable clock w/ my DFI 680i and Tuniq Tower. Q6600 has gotten pretty high on my board, idk about the xeon. I went w/ the opteron last year because it had higher oc potential then the athlons, and this is similar.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-07, 03:45 AM   #16
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

lol, I already have the DFI 680i because I will probably buy another 8800GTX in a month or two. I know Intel chipsets are better, and I may regret it later on, but I want SLI and I've already purchased my mobo
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-07, 05:34 AM   #17
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Yeah, if I could get Sli with an Intel chipset, of course I would, but this is the next best thing and I'm pretty satisfied. System is rock solid, currently at 3.45Ghz, 1.48vcore for the past week and this may become my 24/7 until winter time.

Also, had the DFI 680i been out when I was upgrading, I would have gotten it instead, but still, I am very happy with this abit too.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 10:44 PM   #18
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

What mobo would be good with four 1 gig sticks of DDR2 and a quadcore ? that'll also oc a little ? P35 only please. TIA !
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-07, 11:35 PM   #19
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH0DAN
What mobo would be good with four 1 gig sticks of DDR2 and a quadcore ? that'll also oc a little ? P35 only please. TIA !
The Asus P5K Deluxe has been good to me and I'm happy with the oc. I hear the Gigabyte P35-DQ6 is also pretty good.

As for Q6600 vs. Xeon X3220; I say go with the Xeon. They are probably better tested like X2/Opteron. I totally forgot about them when buying lol
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 02:59 PM   #20
Uberpwnage
Registered User
 
Uberpwnage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 898
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Q6600 is $498 on newegg now, I know I should wait till the price drops but its so tempting, too bad the xeon didnt drop to $530.
__________________
Core i7 980x @ 4.4GHz - EK Supreme HF - BlackIce GTX 360 - MCP655 - Rampage II Extreme BIOS 1639 - EVGA GTX 480 SLI - Corsair Dominator 3x2GB DDR3 1600
2 x 1TB Samsung F1 RAID 0 - Plextor PX-880SA DVD Burner - Dell 3008WFP - Silverstone Zeus 1200w PSU - Lian Li PC-P80 - Razer Mamba - Logitech G15 v2
Windows 7 x64, 3DMark06:30000, 3DMark Vantage: P38000

Eurocom M860TU: X9100 - 9800M GT - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333 - 320GB 7200rpm - 15.4in 1920x1200
Uberpwnage is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-22-07, 03:51 PM   #21
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Xeon for Desktop? when did this happen?
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-07, 08:31 PM   #22
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

I sure hope we have some more information on Crysis' multi-core performance by the end of July. I'm still not seeing a whole lot of reason to pay even twice as much for a quad core that runs much hotter and doesn't overclock as well (ie, lower performance in most situations) as a dual core.

I think the best thing right now would be to get a good dual core with a good cooler and a P35 board. Once the penryn is out, we'll definitely know if quad core is worth it (while hopefully running at lower temps and hitting higher clock speeds), and if it is, you won't need a new motherboard.

I'm just a bit skeptical because dual core has yet to make any difference at all in 90% of games and only a slight difference in the rest.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-07, 07:59 AM   #23
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
I sure hope we have some more information on Crysis' multi-core performance by the end of July. I'm still not seeing a whole lot of reason to pay even twice as much for a quad core that runs much hotter and doesn't overclock as well (ie, lower performance in most situations) as a dual core.

I think the best thing right now would be to get a good dual core with a good cooler and a P35 board. Once the penryn is out, we'll definitely know if quad core is worth it (while hopefully running at lower temps and hitting higher clock speeds), and if it is, you won't need a new motherboard.

I'm just a bit skeptical because dual core has yet to make any difference at all in 90% of games and only a slight difference in the rest.
Wise words! I'm planning on doing the same. Unless the FSB can be set to at least 1600 and the temps drop there's no point. Why sacrifice the overall performance for the odd game that can use all the cores. It would be nice to have a quad for Crysis and Episode 2, etc, but by early next year the 9800GTX and Penryn will be out. I've started saving up all ready aaarr!
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-07, 09:58 PM   #24
SH0DAN
SGIRealityEngine
 
SH0DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Citadel Station
Posts: 1,676
Send a message via ICQ to SH0DAN
Thumbs up Re: Q6600 or Xeon X3220?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nick
The Asus P5K Deluxe has been good to me and I'm happy with the oc. I hear the Gigabyte P35-DQ6 is also pretty good.

As for Q6600 vs. Xeon X3220; I say go with the Xeon. They are probably better tested like X2/Opteron. I totally forgot about them when buying lol


Thanks ! I had since my last post on the topic decided to grab a Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi + Q6600 on the 22nd.Pricing at most E-Tailers will be 266 USD or less even within a few weeks of the cut.I have my money saved and ready
to be blown come the 22nd!
__________________
When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves, in the course of time, a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it. -Fred Bastiat-

The last official act of a corrupt government is to loot the nation.

When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators.
P. J. O'Rourke

------------------
Q6600 g0 @3.20Ghz 1.30 VOLTS||Tr ULTIMA 90I + ||2X1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC6400 4-3-3-7@ 400 x 8
BFG 260gtx MAXCORE55 @ 690/1420/2377 ||Asus P5K-Deluxe WiFi AP||Corsair HX520||Nec 2470WNX-BK + LG 1751S|
Lian Li PC-65B + II||Western Digital 150GB RaptorX|| Samsung 750Gb HD x3|| WD 2500KS ||Samsung 183s||SB Audigy 2 ZS||Audio Technica ESW9's +red RSA Predator|G11+MX518
SH0DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fujitsu Marries GPUs and Xeon in High-Density HPC Server News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
Three Xeon E5 Server Systems From Intel, Tyan, And Supermicro News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 04:26 AM
Intel Feeds China's Supercomputers With New Xeon Chip News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 10:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.