Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-06, 05:48 AM   #1
tntcoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Twinview Metamodes

Hi,

I would really appreciate any help on this, I have been trying everything on google for hours on end .

Basically, I have 2 sceens, the primary screen is widescreen at 1440x900, then to the left of that I have a standard 1280x1024. I have configured xorg.conf to use twinview on them so that I can have a taskbar on the widescreen, and the second screen will just be blank for me to drag windows on to, this is all working. The problem is that my second screen is at the wrong resolution, it looks like its horizontally squashed and i think i have narrowed this down to the meta mode line below:

Quote:
Option "MetaModes" "1440x900,1440x900; # 1280x1024 @ 1280x1024"
With that line, the widescreen monitor seems to be 100% fine, everything correct but as i said the second screen is at the wrong resolution, i have played around with this line but i cannot get it working .

Any ideas? Below is my full xorg.conf, thanks very much for any help.

[I have the nvidia drivers running on a 7800GT, both screens show as 1 monitor under control center, but the nvidia status dialog shows both montiors]

Jack

Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Acer"
    HorizSync 30-82
    Vertrefresh 56-76
    Modeline "1440x900" 106.5 1440 1520 1672 1904 900 901 904 932 -HSync +VSync
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "NEC"
    HorizSync 31.5-95.0
    Vertrefresh 60-60
EndSection

Section "Device"

    #VideoRam    4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    Identifier     "VESA Framebuffer"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "TwinView" "true"
    Option         "Xinerama" "on"
    Option         "TwinViewOrientation" "LeftOf"
    Option         "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31.5-95.0"
    Option         "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60-60"
#  Option         "MetaModes" "1440x900,1440x900; # 1280x1024@1280x1024;"
    Option         "MetaModes" "1440x900,1440x900; # 1280x1024,NULL;"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "FPD,FPD"
    Option         "Xinerama" "on"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen 1"
    Device         "VESA Framebuffer"
    Monitor        "Acer"
    DefaultDepth    24

    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1400x900"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen 2"
    Device         "VESA Framebuffer"
    Monitor        "NEC"
    DefaultDepth    24

    SubSection     "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1280x1024"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
EDIT: I should also add that if i remove the meta modes line, both screens are the correct resolution, but if i move the mouse below the task bar on the widesreen, the whole screen shifts down to what i assume is the extra verticle pixels of 1280x1024 resolution, so i assume i need a correct meta modes line to fix this.

Last edited by tntcoda; 05-14-06 at 06:57 AM.
tntcoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 11:13 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

As a side note, the parameters you are providing for the ConnectedMonitor option are invalid (FPD). However, you shouldn't ordinarily need to use the ConnectedMonitor option at all.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 01:46 PM   #3
tntcoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

Hi,

Thanks for your response i really appreciate it. I have uploaded the nvidia-bug-report.log to the url below:

http://www.x-rev.net/nvidia/nvidia-bug-report.log

Regarding the connected monitor option, I dont really understand it I just copied it off google so its probably not needed at all, Hopefully the log will tell you what is wrong with my config because the second screen is starting to hurt my eyes now

Hope that helps,
Jack

Last edited by tntcoda; 05-14-06 at 01:58 PM.
tntcoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 03:18 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

First, I'd suggest removing the ConnectedMonitor option altogether.

You have two CRTs:
Acer AL1916W (CRT-0)
NEC LCD1760NX (CRT-1)

CRT0 can natively do "1440x900", CRT1 can natively do 1280x1024. I suspect the reason that you're seeing the distortion on CRT1 is because 1440x900 isn't really a native mode for it.

You can try commenting out your 1440x900 modeline, however if that doesn't help, you should change your Metamodes to something like this:
Option "Metamodes" "1440x900,1280x1024"

and your "Screen1" modes to something like this:
Modes "1400x900" "1280x1024"

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 04:00 PM   #5
tntcoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

Lonni,

Thanks alot for that, Ive made a bit of progress I removed the connectedmotior option, and changed the metamodes as you suggested:

Quote:
Option "MetaModes" "1440x900,1280x1024"
With this change, the second screen now appears to be of the correct resolution as does the first and all distortion is gone .

However there is now a problem, that if i maximize a window on the first screen, it goes behind the taskbar, i.e it dosnt respect the screen boundaries and i am unable to see the status bar of a maximized window without hiding the task bar. This was not a problem that I had before, when there was distortion on screen 2.

It looks like this with a screenshot, as you can see its not working correctly, the firefox window is maximized to screen 1, and also it appears to go down vertically to x1024 pixels i dont know if this is meant to happen...

http://www.x-rev.net/nvidia/dual_screen_problem.jpg

Any ideas? I also tried changing the screen 1 modes, but this made no difference.

Thanks again for your help
Jack
tntcoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 04:12 PM   #6
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

This looks like a window manager issue, possibly because you aren't using the same resolution on both displays.

The reason that this didn't happen before is because you were using the same resolution on both displays, and now you're doing 1280x1024 on one, and 1400x900 on the other.

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-06, 04:17 PM   #7
tntcoda
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

Hmm thanks, ive been through all the KDE options and i cant seem to find the problem Any ideas on how I can go about fixing it?

If it helps, in KDE display settings, it says i have a resolution of 2720x1024, and that is for 1 screen only, it dosnt seem show there are 2 screens, just 1 with 1 big resolution @ 50hz.
tntcoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-07, 08:23 AM   #8
tkbletsc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Twinview Metamodes

You may need to enable the Xinerama emulation, which is what tells KDE that you have two displays instead of one big display.
tkbletsc is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order of devices in TwinView mjh NVIDIA Linux 2 10-16-02 03:45 AM
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 12:46 PM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.