Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-07, 08:58 PM   #1
carage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

Is this the Great Firewall of China or just my office?

Hi, does anyone know of an easy method to get Ultrasurf running without DHCP enabled.
Ultrasurf 8.2 was working for me perfectly until yesterday, I suspect the culprit is that the network admin turned off DHCP yesterday.
I can still connect to Ultrasurf at home, so it might not be a national thing.
I tried both Ultrasurf and Gpass, both have trouble connecting to servers.
After some research on Google, it appears that it is possible to get Ultrasurf running without DHCP enabled, the problem is I just don't know how.
I hope it isn't too complicated, besides I don't have admin privileges anyway.
It would be kind of dumb to go up to the admin and say something like hey turn on DHCP for me so I can access news sites and forums the PRC government considers bad for the people (even for foreigners working in China).
The system is running Windows 2000.
carage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-07, 09:58 PM   #2
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

This sounds like a fallacy of causation. I can't see how DHCP is even related to Ultrasurf nor why it would be required.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:18 AM   #3
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
This sounds like a fallacy of causation. I can't see how DHCP is even related to Ultrasurf nor why it would be required.
Dynampic IP addresses with 10 minute leases are ESSENTIAL to anti-censorship surfing.

DUH!!!!!!!!!
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:23 AM   #4
carage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

Apparently there seems to be a causation.
I came home and did a test. I turned off DHCP on my router at home and Ultrasurf and the like stopped working altogether.
I turn DHCP back on and voila!
So I guess it does need DHCP.
Now only if I can just figure out how to solve this problem...
Thanks anyway.
carage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 07:52 AM   #5
carage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

I was also kind of wondering whether it would work if I just plug in a router by myself and enable DHCP on that? Would that work?
I mean just plug in another router between my PC and the office LAN outlet.
carage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 08:40 AM   #6
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by carage
Apparently there seems to be a causation.
I came home and did a test. I turned off DHCP on my router at home and Ultrasurf and the like stopped working altogether.
I turn DHCP back on and voila!
So I guess it does need DHCP.
Now only if I can just figure out how to solve this problem...
Thanks anyway.
When you disabled DHCP did you allocate/define a static IP address? If you didn't you wouldn't have any connectivity aside from Layer-2.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-07, 10:15 AM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by carage
Is this the Great Firewall of China or just my office?

Hi, does anyone know of an easy method to get Ultrasurf running without DHCP enabled.
Ultrasurf 8.2 was working for me perfectly until yesterday, I suspect the culprit is that the network admin turned off DHCP yesterday.
I can still connect to Ultrasurf at home, so it might not be a national thing.
I tried both Ultrasurf and Gpass, both have trouble connecting to servers.
After some research on Google, it appears that it is possible to get Ultrasurf running without DHCP enabled, the problem is I just don't know how.
I hope it isn't too complicated, besides I don't have admin privileges anyway.
It would be kind of dumb to go up to the admin and say something like hey turn on DHCP for me so I can access news sites and forums the PRC government considers bad for the people (even for foreigners working in China).
The system is running Windows 2000.
use Torpark.
http://www.download.com/Torpark/3000...-10586816.html

free, based on firefox, can put on a flash drive and use on public computers, etc.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-07, 09:04 AM   #8
carage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

I tried Torpark, FreeGate, Dynapass, Garden today along with Ultrasurf, none of them work.
carage is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-05-07, 05:56 AM   #9
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: Ultrasurf and DHCP issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by carage
Is this the Great Firewall of China or just my office?

Hi, does anyone know of an easy method to get Ultrasurf running without DHCP enabled.
Ultrasurf 8.2 was working for me perfectly until yesterday, I suspect the culprit is that the network admin turned off DHCP yesterday.
I can still connect to Ultrasurf at home, so it might not be a national thing.
I tried both Ultrasurf and Gpass, both have trouble connecting to servers.
After some research on Google, it appears that it is possible to get Ultrasurf running without DHCP enabled, the problem is I just don't know how.
I hope it isn't too complicated, besides I don't have admin privileges anyway.
It would be kind of dumb to go up to the admin and say something like hey turn on DHCP for me so I can access news sites and forums the PRC government considers bad for the people (even for foreigners working in China).
The system is running Windows 2000.
why would you risk your job for surfing a few sites that can wait untill you get home?
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.