Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 01:46 AM   #1
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

Planning on buying a new desktop computer soon and was wondering if 2GB RAM will be enough with Vista?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 01:50 AM   #2
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

I think that 4GB will soon be the new 2GB, but right now, 2GB is perfectly fine for Vista.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 01:57 AM   #3
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

Ok, this is the base:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
640MB EVGA GeForce 8800GTS DDR3
2GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400 DDR2-800 (2x1024)

I can do only ONE of the following upgrades:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6700
768MB EVGA GeForce 8800GTX DDR3
4GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400 DDR2-800 (4x1024)

Which upgrade will yield the most improvement in games under Vista?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 02:02 AM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

For gaming, the GTX would be the best upgrade option.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 02:14 AM   #5
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

GX Black - Velocity Micro Classic Case - Pure Aluminum, matching aluminum drive covers, 2 x 120mm fans

Power Supply 500 Watt Velocity Micro® Power Supply with Dual Blue Lighted Fans

Motherboard EVGA nForce 680i SLI, Socket 775, PCI-E, DDR2

Processor Intel® Core™ 2 Duo processor E6600, dual 2.4GHz cores, 4MB L2 Cache

CPU Cooling Arctic Cooling® Freezer 7 Pro Heatsink, Ultra Quiet Fan, Copper Heat Pipes, plus Arctic Silver™ 5 Thermal Compound

DDR2 Memory 2048MB Corsair™ DDR2 PC6400 DDR2-800 (2x1024)

PCX Video 640MB EVGA GeForce 8800GTS DDR3 PCI-E w/HDCP (700W+ PSU recommended for SLI)

Video Tuning Basic 3D Video Performance Tuning & Optimization

Audio Creative Labs SoundBlaster® X-Fi™ XtremeGamer

Hard Drive 1 320GB Hitachi 7200rpm 16MB Cache SATA 300 w/NCQ

Optical Drive 1 20x Lite On® DVD+/-RW/CD-RW Dual Layer, Black Bezel

Floppy Drive & Media Reader 8-in-1 Floppy Drive & Media Reader Combo, Black Bezel

On-Line Gaming Accelerator ONLY Integrated 10/100/1000MBps Gigabit Ethernet Network Adapter

Zonet 802.11b/g Wireless PCI with MIMO Technology (greater range and speed)

FireWire 2 Integrated IEEE 1394 FireWire Ports, 1 front & 1 rear

USB 2.0 Ports 6 USB 2.0 Ports, 2 front & 4 rear

Operating System Genuine Microsoft® Windows® Vista Home Premium 32-bit

Internal Cables Standard Premium Ribbon IDE and Floppy Cables

T-Shirt FREE Velocity Micro™ Limited Edition T-shirt in Blue, size XL

Assembly Immaculate custom hand wiring for ultimate air flow, assembled in Richmond, Virginia, USA

Quality Assurance Individual custom testing for complete system functionality, signed by the system builder and QA inspector

Documentation Owner's Portfolio with Velocity Micro manual, driver disks, and accessory pack

Warranty** 1 Yr Standard Parts & Labor Ltd Warranty, 1 Yr Regular Business Hours Support, and Depot Repair Service

Upgrade Plan Velocity Micro Lifetime Upgrade Plan allows you to return your system for maintenance, discounted upgrades, and tuning

Instant Coupon Wow! You found an instant coupon! Hurry! Expires this Sunday! (-$50.00)

$1905

Yay or nay?
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 02:36 AM   #6
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,204
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

Do you really need that 680i board? If you don't plan on going sli, replace the 680i with an Intel chipset mobo.
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 12:29 PM   #7
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

2GB of RAM for Vista is not enough...I suggest to pick up 4GB or go back to XP.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 12:48 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

2gb is perfectly fine for vista.

just go with the GTX.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-05-07, 12:49 PM   #9
rudedog
Not so Rude
 
rudedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

Under Vista, do you need Vista 64 to take advantage of 4 gigs or will Vista 32 be able to recognize the whole 4?
__________________
Not so Rude, Rudedog FPSadmin.com | twitter | Microsoft MVP 2009-2012 - Games for Windows
Main Box:Intel QX6850|Asus Formula Maximus|4GB(1GBx4) @ 1066|Evga 285GTX - 182.05|150Gig Raptor SATA|2x WD 250Gb SATA|2x Lite-on 1673S DVDRW-all|Pioneer
BDR-202|X-Fi Fatal1ty 2.07.0004|Logitec G7-setpoint 3.1.116|Ergodex DX1-firmware 1.1-driver1.3|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|PCPower and Cooling TurboCool 1000 SLI|Windows 7 Ultimate|Klipsch THX 5.1
Imac: Snow Leopard|27" screen|i7 2.93|12 GB|ATI HD 5750 1G|WD 1T SATA|2xWD 2T firewire 800|Sharing Dell 24"
Laptop: MBP|2.16|2GB ram|160drive
Laptop 2: MBP Unibody|2.66|4GB ram|320drive
Camera: D700 + MB-D10 + EN-EL3e + GP1|Nikon14-24 f2.8|nikon24-70 f2.8|nikon70-200 f2.8|nikon 50 f1.4|Sigma 150-500
Car: 2010 Dodge Challenger R/T Classic Plum Crazy Purl|6 Speed|Power roof|Super Track Pack|20" classic rims|Functional ram air hood
rudedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 12:54 PM   #10
A101Sugar
Registered User
 
A101Sugar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 292
Send a message via AIM to A101Sugar
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudedog
Under Vista, do you need Vista 64 to take advantage of 4 gigs or will Vista 32 be able to recognize the whole 4?
The 32-bit version of vista will only recognize 3 gb.

To be able to take advantage of all 4 gigs, you need the 64-bit version.
A101Sugar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 01:47 PM   #11
Tygerwoody
mega ultra God Tit Lord
 
Tygerwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,934
Default Re: 2GB vs. 4GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
2GB of RAM for Vista is not enough...I suggest to pick up 4GB or go back to XP.
says the guy who isn't using 2gb ram on Vista



2gb is PLENTY enough for the games we run today. In the future, i have to agree that we will eventually need 4gb. You could easily get 2gb now and add 2 more 1gb sticks later.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
if tygerwoody says its bad, its bad.
Tygerwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.