Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 05:20 PM   #1
ShadowFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Vista Desktop Resolution issue

Hi anyone know how to increse the resolution on a monitor passed what the display options give you. because on Win Xp my HDTV mon (1080p) can go up to 1920 x 1080 but on Vista it only lets me go to 1600 x1200. Any help plz


Comp Specs:
Video Card- 8800 GTS
Chip - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600
Ram - 2GBs
OS - Vista Ultimate
ShadowFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 08:04 PM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

This might help... In display settings, properties, advanced settings, in monitor you can untick hide modes this monitor can't display, might reqire a reboot.

Just becareful what you select after doing this.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 09:41 PM   #3
ShadowFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
This might help... In display settings, properties, advanced settings, in monitor you can untick hide modes this monitor can't display, might reqire a reboot.

Just becareful what you select after doing this.
I tried it still doesn't let me go to 1920 x1080, The only thing I can think of is that it says its using a Generic PnP Monitor driver but I've never seen drivers for a HDTV monitor
ShadowFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 09:46 PM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

Yeah, might be worth having a look for the matching drivers, my Philips HDTV has drivers for download. Either that or try adding a custom resolution in the Nvidia control panel...
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-07, 02:23 PM   #5
ShadowFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger
Yeah, might be worth having a look for the matching drivers, my Philips HDTV has drivers for download. Either that or try adding a custom resolution in the Nvidia control panel...
Yeah couldn't find any drivers, I didn't have any issues with the Generic drivers on XP. Also there isn't an option to put your own custom Resolution on the nvidia panel in vista
ShadowFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 03:02 PM   #6
ShadowFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

It looks like its just crappy Forceware Drivers for Vista , going to have to wait for some better drivers then. Atleast its not one of my main Monitors just one I like to watch videos from my computer on. Oh well thx for the help anyway.
ShadowFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-07, 03:29 PM   #7
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowFX
Hi anyone know how to increse the resolution on a monitor passed what the display options give you. because on Win Xp my HDTV mon (1080p) can go up to 1920 x 1080 but on Vista it only lets me go to 1600 x1200. Any help plz


Comp Specs:
Video Card- 8800 GTS
Chip - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600
Ram - 2GBs
OS - Vista Ultimate
What kind of a connection are you using? DVI? VGA? Component?

I have a 1080p HDTV hooked up to my 7800GTX using a DVI to HDMI cable and it works fine at 1080p. I'm using Vista Ultimate with 158.24 drivers. Which drivers are you using?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 08:54 PM   #8
ShadowFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Vista Desktop Resolution issue

Hey Einstein I'm using a VGA to DVI Converter. Also I'm using the same drivers 158.24. I didn't have any issues on XP just a couple of weeks ago with the same setup. Thats why I think its a Vista Issue.
ShadowFX is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 10:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.