Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 09:23 PM   #13
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
bull****

i went from 4400+/Asus A8N-SLI to e6600/680i on OEM vista, and it worked just fine. Installed called MS, spoke to someone that didn't speak English and bam i'm activated.
I've never had an issue either. The key question they ask is "How many PCs is it installed on?"

On the whole I've found the outsourced MS Call Centres to actually be pretty pleasent to deal with. Not the best english, but very polite.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 07:35 AM   #14
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

k, so if im understanding this correctly, then it doesnt matter if i move Vista OEM over to another computer (mobo/cpu) as long as its only installed one ONE computer at a time, correct?

just, when i move over, ill have to call MS to get a new activation?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 03:44 PM   #15
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86
k, so if im understanding this correctly, then it doesnt matter if i move Vista OEM over to another computer (mobo/cpu) as long as its only installed one ONE computer at a time, correct?

just, when i move over, ill have to call MS to get a new activation?
Most definitely NOT correct. Vista OEM licence is only valid for the PC it was purchased with, or first installed on. That is theory. In practise, Microsoft allows you to phone reactivate the license on another PC, but it is their good will only, license does not state they have to do this.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 03:54 PM   #16
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Most definitely NOT correct. Vista OEM licence is only valid for the PC it was purchased with, or first installed on. That is theory. In practise, Microsoft allows you to phone reactivate the license on another PC, but it is their good will only, license does not state they have to do this.
oh ok. so they let ppl reactivate just to be nice. but in actuality, there is no requirement for them to do so.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 04:10 PM   #17
radekhulan
 
radekhulan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague
Posts: 749
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

Yes, OEM license CANNOT be legally transfered from one PC to another. Even if you call Microsoft and they reactivate your Windows, *YOU* are liable for breaking license terms, and your Windows installation is NOT legal.

http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/YourPC_do.mspx

Another common misconception is that you can transfer a preinstalled or OEM copy of Windows from an "old" machine to a new machine. An OEM software license may not be transferred from and old machine to a new machine—even if that machine is no longer in use. The OEM license is tied to the machine on which it was originally installed and can't be transferred to other machines.
__________________
[size=1][b]CPU:[/b] Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz | [b]Memory:[/b] 4x2GB Patriot DDR2-800 | 4GB A-Data PD7 ReadyBoost USB | [b]Sound:[/b] X-Fi FPS
[b]Board:[/b] Asus Commando | [b]GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1050[/b] | [b]HDD:[/b] 3x WD3200KS 320GB + 500GB | [b]Power:[/b] Fortron EPSILON 600W-GLN
[b]Mouse:[/b] Logitech G5 | [b]Kbd:[/b] Logitech G15 | [b]DVD:[/b] Plextor 130B + LITE-ON LH-18A1H | [b]LCD[/b] [b]24" HP2465 1920x1200[/b] | Vista Ultimate x64
My websites: [url=http://hulan.cz/en][b]HULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://radekhulan.cz/][b]RADEKHULAN.cz[/b][/url], [url=http://hulan.info/][b]HULAN.info[/b][/url], [url=http://blogcms.com/][b]BLOGCMS.com[/b][/url], [url=http://www.megablog.cz/][b]MEGABLOG.cz[/b][/url] | [url=http://hulan.cz/temp/games.png][b]Games played[/b][/url] | [URL=http://hulan.cz/temp/sestava.png][B]CPU-Z[/B][/URL] -- [URL="http://radekhulan.cz/img/stacker-830/stacker-830-bocnice.jpg"][B]case foto[/B][/URL][/size]
radekhulan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 05:40 PM   #18
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by radekhulan
Yes, OEM license CANNOT be legally transfered from one PC to another. Even if you call Microsoft and they reactivate your Windows, *YOU* are liable for breaking license terms, and your Windows installation is NOT legal.

http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/YourPC_do.mspx

Another common misconception is that you can transfer a preinstalled or OEM copy of Windows from an "old" machine to a new machine. An OEM software license may not be transferred from and old machine to a new machine—even if that machine is no longer in use. The OEM license is tied to the machine on which it was originally installed and can't be transferred to other machines.
thats lame.

i dont want to pay $400 for Ultimate retail
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 09:32 PM   #19
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

You can find the upgrade version of Ultimate on newegg for $230. The OEM full install disk is around $200. $30 more for a product key you can keep that is not tied to a single computer forever is worth it in my opinion.

1) Have XP installed and upgrade or custom install Vista to another partition

or with no OS installed

1) Boot off the DVD and install without putting the key in

2) When installed run the DVD autorun and then upgrade. You may then put your key in. It will reinstall the operating system, but it will basically be a clean install. Yes it does involve installing it twice, but it works

In my experience the 64-bit version doesn't even require much of anything and you can boot off the disk and do a full install even when you put the key in.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 10:28 PM   #20
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonPC
You can find the upgrade version of Ultimate on newegg for $230. The OEM full install disk is around $200. $30 more for a product key you can keep that is not tied to a single computer forever is worth it in my opinion.

1) Have XP installed and upgrade or custom install Vista to another partition

or with no OS installed

1) Boot off the DVD and install without putting the key in

2) When installed run the DVD autorun and then upgrade. You may then put your key in. It will reinstall the operating system, but it will basically be a clean install. Yes it does involve installing it twice, but it works

In my experience the 64-bit version doesn't even require much of anything and you can boot off the disk and do a full install even when you put the key in.
oh, didnt know about that, thx Jason
i dont plan on installing very much, i like to keep my OS running clean, so that should work fine.

im sure its still EULA infringement, but at least that would allow hassle free upgrades.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-09-07, 10:57 PM   #21
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Vista Ultimate OEM Question

It's not really an infringement. It's just their oversight. I think it's done by design, but it just had some unintended consequences.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.