Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-07, 09:52 AM   #1
Elegy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 92
Default Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

There will be a plethora of cheap Core 2s coming out on July 22nd with a bus of 1333MHz, but how exactly will the speed of such processors be affected if they were put into a motherboard which only supports 1066MHz?

Will their speed effectively be cut by (1066/1333), which is about 20%, or will they still function at the same speed but with a lower bus? Eg, an E6750 works at 2.66GHz. If placed in a 1066MHz motherboard, will it's speed be reduced to just 2.13GHz or will it still run at 2.66GHz with a reduced bus? The effective speed of intel chips is multiplier*bus I believe and the E6750 has a locked multiplier, so wouldn't that mean it would run slower at a slower bus?

Can bios updates allow compatibility for 1333MHz CPUs? Can the new Core 2s even fit into 1066MHz slots in the first place?
Elegy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 01:00 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

not sure how speed would be affected.

but i can answer the last two options, bios update might be possible in some cases, but not likelly, you should be able to OC the motherboard to 1333mhz bus. CPUs will fit, its the same socket no difference in pin layout.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 02:32 PM   #3
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

More than likely the multiplier would stay the same and the cpu would just run at a slower 1066Mhz FSB unless your board mfgr came out with a bios update to support 1333mhz.
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 02:39 PM   #4
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elegy
There will be a plethora of cheap Core 2s coming out on July 22nd with a bus of 1333MHz, but how exactly will the speed of such processors be affected if they were put into a motherboard which only supports 1066MHz?

Will their speed effectively be cut by (1066/1333), which is about 20%, or will they still function at the same speed but with a lower bus? Eg, an E6750 works at 2.66GHz. If placed in a 1066MHz motherboard, will it's speed be reduced to just 2.13GHz or will it still run at 2.66GHz with a reduced bus? The effective speed of intel chips is multiplier*bus I believe and the E6750 has a locked multiplier, so wouldn't that mean it would run slower at a slower bus?

Can bios updates allow compatibility for 1333MHz CPUs? Can the new Core 2s even fit into 1066MHz slots in the first place?
I would assume that the E6750 Multiplier will be set to 8 (6-8), i think the E6850 would OC better on a 1066 Mobo.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 02:42 PM   #5
Despotes
Registered User
 
Despotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Maine
Posts: 133
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

eVGA has a bios out for the 680i that supports 1333 cpu's.

Both are the same socket size and pin number
__________________
ASUS P8P67 DELUXE 2600K@4.5 1.27v
Antec Kuhler H2O 920
G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB
Asus 5870
74Gb Raptor/250GbHD/WD6400/1001
X-Fi Platinum
Silverstone Zeus 850
Dell 2405FPW
Klipsch 5.1 Ultra's
Lian Li PC73-SLB

"This year will go down in history. For the first time, a civilized nation has full gun registration. Our streets will be safer, our police more efficient, and the world will follow our lead into the future!"

- Adolf Hitler, 1935
Despotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 02:59 PM   #6
Burner_Tbird2
The Objectivist Gamer
 
Burner_Tbird2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 275
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

X-Bit Labs Test of New 1333Mhz Core 2
__________________
2600k @4.6GHz
eVGA 470GTX
ASUS P8Z68
8Gb G.Skill 1600
Silverstone 750W PSU
Corsair H80 Liquid Cooler
http://www.patriotsjetteam.com

PSN: BurnerDeuce
Folding For nVNews Team #35216
Burner_Tbird2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 04:02 PM   #7
Elegy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 92
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

I'm not interested in overclocking potential or comparing processors of similar clock speeds but different FSBs (as these have different multipliers), I was just wondering how the speed of an E6x50 processor would be affected if it was placed in a 1066MHz FSB motherboard and I know the answer now; Since the multipliers are locked, reducing the FSB will inevitably reduce the clock speed of the CPU. The E6750 has an 8x multiplier for example so reducing the FSB from 1333 to 1066 will reduce it's clock speed from 2.66GHz to only 2.13GHz.

Thank you for the replies though.
Elegy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 04:11 PM   #8
jcniest5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN., USA
Posts: 678
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elegy
I'm not interested in overclocking potential or comparing processors of similar clock speeds but different FSBs (as these have different multipliers), I was just wondering how the speed of an E6x50 processor would be affected if it was placed in a 1066MHz FSB motherboard and I know the answer now; Since the multipliers are locked, reducing the FSB will inevitably reduce the clock speed of the CPU. The E6750 has an 8x multiplier for example so reducing the FSB from 1333 to 1066 will reduce it's clock speed from 2.66GHz to only 2.13GHz.

Thank you for the replies though.
In many cases, your system may not even boot if it doesn't support 1333FSB. It's just the same as putting a Prescott CPU into a board that doesn't support it. At worst, if it does boot or work, you will not be able to use the full potential speed or feature of the CPU. Depending on which board you have, a new BIOS may fix it if it's made with a future-proof upgradibility. Otherwise, you will just have to buy a new board that will work with such CPUs.
__________________
Asus Rampage Extreme with Intel E1400@3.2Ghz, 4GB (2x2GB) OCZ Platinum PC3-1600, EVGA GTX285 SC 1GB DDR3
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe 1.01G, AMD A64 X2 3800+, 2x1GB Ultra PC-3200, BFG 9600GT OC 512MB DDR3
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe, A64 3200 Venice, 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix PC-4000 and EVGA 7600GT 256MB DDR3
Abit KN8 Rev. 1.1, A64 3200+, 2x512MB Samsung PC-3700, MSI 8500GT 256MB DDR3
Gigabyte P4M900-M7 Rev. 7.0, Intel Celeron 440, 1GB Kingston, 6600LE
Gigabyte P4M900-M4 Rev. 6.1, P4 3Ghz Prescott, 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2, EVGA 8500GT 1GB DDR2
ECS L4VXA2, P4 2Ghz, 768MB and 6600GT AGP
jcniest5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-12-07, 04:27 PM   #9
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elegy
I'm not interested in overclocking potential or comparing processors of similar clock speeds but different FSBs (as these have different multipliers), I was just wondering how the speed of an E6x50 processor would be affected if it was placed in a 1066MHz FSB motherboard and I know the answer now; Since the multipliers are locked, reducing the FSB will inevitably reduce the clock speed of the CPU. The E6750 has an 8x multiplier for example so reducing the FSB from 1333 to 1066 will reduce it's clock speed from 2.66GHz to only 2.13GHz.

Thank you for the replies though.
Sence when did they lock the multiplier on the C2D's? Is this something new with the 1333FSB chips?
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 05:10 PM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
Sence when did they lock the multiplier on the C2D's? Is this something new with the 1333FSB chips?
They are all locked upwards as far as I know.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-07, 05:47 PM   #11
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
They are all locked upwards as far as I know.
Correct. Only the Extreme series of processors have an unlocked multi up.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-07, 06:47 PM   #12
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Question about 1333MHz FSB Core 2s...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
They are all locked upwards as far as I know.
Ahh upward... ok. Cause I know I can change mine down so I was not sure what you were talking about for a second
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
nforce fsb Grommit CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-12-02 07:05 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.