Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-07, 09:48 AM   #1
Schaf1010
Registered User
 
Schaf1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

Hey!

I have problems with the installation and configuration of my Nvidia Quadro FX 4600. I downloaded the latest driver from the nvidia.com homepage and followed the instructions in the readme file and as far as I can tell the installation finished without errors. But when I run the "sax2 -r -m 0=nvidia" command the X-server hangs up and I have to restart my computer.
I'm quite new in the linux community and I don't know what to do to fix my problem. My OS is openSUSE 10.2. I attached some files which I thought to be useful. If anything is missing tell me. I can't read your answers the next 3 days but I hope to find some advice when I return.

Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: gz xorg.conf.gz (1.2 KB, 83 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (27.5 KB, 90 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-installer.log.gz (5.8 KB, 87 views)
File Type: gz Xorg.0.log.bak.gz (4.6 KB, 90 views)
Schaf1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-07, 09:52 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

According to your bug report, you're using the VESA X driver, and not the nvidia X driver. I'd guess that there's a problem with the version of the vesa X driver that ships in SUSE-10.2. Instead of running sax, just run "nvidia-xconfig" as root, and you should be able to start X.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-07, 02:50 AM   #3
Schaf1010
Registered User
 
Schaf1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

I tried this several times up to now. After that my X hung up everytime. Not even Ctrl+Alt+Del worked then anymore. So I changed the driver manually to "VESA" to be able to start X.
Schaf1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-07, 08:10 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

I can't comment on the problem with the nvidia X driver until you provide a bug report against that configuration.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 06:36 AM   #5
Schaf1010
Registered User
 
Schaf1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

I’m totally confused by now what I tried so far and what I didn’t try. Because of that I will start again and describe every step.
I just ran the nvidia-installer command once again. The xorg.conf file was written and the driver was correct (nvidia in the driver line). But nothing in the display changed so I logged out and wanted to log in again. But after logging out I got nothing but a black screen. I ran the nvidia-bug-report.sh then from a remote login then. When I rebooted the system (from the remote login) everything was ok until the x server should be started normally. Linux tried two or three times to generate the graphical user login screen but failed. I now have a message in “text mode” on my screen that says:
“Failed to start the x server (your graphical interface). It is likely that it is not set up correctly. Would you like to view the x server output to diagnose the problem?”
I choose yes. I get some error diagnostics. The EE lines are:
“FATAL: Module nvidia not found.
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): ***Aborting***
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
Fatal server error:
no screens found”
How can I load the kernel module?
I let the nvidia-bug-report.sh run another time because I noticed that the one I generated when the screen was black had the vesa driver selected. I add both bug reports. I changed the names to distinguish them. The first one is named ***.log.blackscreen and the second one ***.log.withoutx. How can it be that the first bug report still has the vesa driver although I already had changed the driver?
Schaf1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 09:13 AM   #6
Schaf1010
Registered User
 
Schaf1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

Sorry! I forgot the attachments.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.blackscreen.gz (20.1 KB, 102 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.withoutx.gz (16.7 KB, 131 views)
Schaf1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-07, 10:18 AM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

This error is fairly explicit on where the problem lies:
FATAL: Module nvidia not found.

I don't see the NVIDIA driver installer log in your bug report, so its not clear how you installed the driver, but its seemingly not installed correctly (if at all). I'd suggest (re)installing the driver.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-07, 04:29 AM   #8
Schaf1010
Registered User
 
Schaf1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

I reinstalled the driver this morning, but the problem still persists. I followed the Suse Nvidia Installer HOWTO from the Nvidia driver homepage (http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d...00.14.11.html). I changed into runlevel 3 and ran rmmod nvidia. I got a message then that this module doesn't exist in /proc/modules (thats the mistake I guess). Then I typed run NVIDIA*.run -q und followed the instructions of the installer. As before the Installation concluded without any visible error. After the installation I ran the nvidia-xconfig command and again after reboot the graphical interface didn't start and hang up resp. I checked the log files for errors but they don't mention any as far as I can tell.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (23.4 KB, 87 views)
File Type: gz Xorg.0.log.0.gz (4.3 KB, 78 views)
File Type: gz nvidia-installer.log.gz (5.8 KB, 77 views)
Schaf1010 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-17-07, 09:49 AM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

In the latest bug report, X appears to be hanging, which is a completely different problem than what you reported initially.

It appears that you're using a Tyan S3992 motherboard. According to Tyan's website, this motherboard does not support PCI-E graphics cards:
http://tyan.com/product_board_detail.aspx?pid=235

This is not an NVIDIA bug.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-07, 02:37 AM   #10
Schaf1010
Registered User
 
Schaf1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Problems with configuration of Quadro FX 4600

Oh. I would have never thought of that.

But thank you very much for helping me!
Schaf1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 12:10 AM
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:40 PM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 09:55 AM
Personal Cinema not working on GeForce4 Ti 4600 MacGyver0013 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 02-08-03 11:54 PM
A new found love for my GeForce4 Ti 4600! mcortz_2000 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 41 09-15-02 02:37 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.