Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-03, 01:38 PM   #1
Doug
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2
Unhappy Can't even uncompress nvidia-installer

Hi, I'm new to Linux and to this board.
I just installed Mandrake Linux 7.0 because that was the only version I could get my hands on (if could have installed 9.1 I would be happier right now, belive me).

I have an GForce 4 MX440 SE so I downloaded the latest drivers for linux.
When I type : sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
I get a message like this :
This script is for x86 versions, and you are using a i?86 version.
or something like that, so I can't even get to install it and see if it works well for me.

I would like to thank in advence the person who will reply to me.
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-03, 06:55 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Can you write down (and then post) the exact error that you're getting?

Thanks.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-03, 09:50 AM   #3
320mb
refugee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Default

hey, do you have the Kernel Source installed? Looks to me like the installer can't figure out what Kernel version you are using!!
320mb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-03, 01:21 PM   #4
Doug
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2
Default Error:

Here is the exact text I get when I type 'sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run' :

Error : this .run file is intended for the
Linux-x86 platform, but you appear to be
running on Linux-i?86.
Aborting installation.

Aloso, I'm not sure that I have my kernel source installed. Can you give me a hint on how to verify that, please?
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-03, 03:04 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Oh boy. You appear to have a broken uname installed (... or something...). If you can read shell script, take a look around line 412 of the run file (the first bit of it is readable text, including where it does this check).

When you do a uname -m, it says "i?86", right? That's the problem -- the installer is looking for "i386", "i486", "i586", or "i686" from uname -m, and it's not getting one of those.

If you temporarily move /bin/uname to something like /bin/uname.real, and then create a new uname script, like this, does it help at all?:

Code:
cat <<EOF >/bin/uname
#!/bin/sh

if [ "\$1" == "-m" ] ; then
    echo "i386"
else
    exec /bin/uname.real "\$@"
fi
EOF
You'll have to run chmod a+x /bin/uname after you do this. And do it all as root, too.

Try the installer again after doing this.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 09:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 05:48 PM
rh7.3 and nvidia vcrispo NVIDIA Linux 11 07-31-02 09:57 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.