Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-07, 10:55 AM   #13
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1.0-7185 AGP SBA and FW options broken

What happens if you run the modprobe command manually with those options?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-07, 03:53 PM   #14
ahurst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: 1.0-7185 AGP SBA and FW options broken

Ahah, adding the options to /etc/modprobe.conf directly, they work!
Should modprobe.conf be set with modules.conf, or are they independent?
ahurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-07, 03:57 PM   #15
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1.0-7185 AGP SBA and FW options broken

modules.conf is normally only used with 2.4.x kernels.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-07, 04:05 PM   #16
ahurst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: 1.0-7185 AGP SBA and FW options broken [solved]

Well, either way, the nvidia options in /etc/modules.d/nvidia aren't appearing in /etc/modprobe.conf - it's a problem with gentoo's module-init-tools, not your driver package. ( I should never have doubted you, nvidia! )

Thanks for your help.
Andy
ahurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-07, 03:02 AM   #17
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 277
Default Re: 1.0-7185 AGP SBA and FW options broken [solved]

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahurst
Well, either way, the nvidia options in /etc/modules.d/nvidia aren't appearing in /etc/modprobe.conf - it's a problem with gentoo's module-init-tools, not your driver package. ( I should never have doubted you, nvidia! )
Did you run "update-modules" after changing /etc/modules.d/nvidia? /etc/modprobe.conf is created automatically from files in /etc/modules.d when you run that command.
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-07, 07:43 AM   #18
ahurst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: 1.0-7185 AGP SBA and FW options broken

Hullo again!

Yes, I ran update-modules, which generates /etc/modules.conf .. the two lines of the form 'options nvidia NVoption_1 NVoption_2 ...' correctly appear there.

Now when I run regenerate-modprobe.conf, which is what makes /etc/modprobe.conf (used by 2.6.x kernels) from /etc/modules.conf, I find that it only handles a single 'options ...' line per module name, hence picking out only the second 'options ...' line from /etc/modules.d/nvidia (options nvidia NVreg_DeviceFileMode=432 NVreg_DeviceFileUID=0 ... etc), and thus ignoring my options NVreg_EnableAGPSBA and NVreg_EnableAGPFW.

i.e. not nvidia's fault.

Andy
ahurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.