Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-07, 08:26 AM   #1
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Question Q6600

Hi All,

Just got my new Intel Q6600 and my Abit IN9 32x Max and I want to start
playing with the CPU to see how far can I overclock it.

The only problem is that i want to use the memory sticks from my old AM2 platform which, by the way, are a pair of Patriot PC2-6400 CL5 for a total of
4gigs.

I know "now" that the Q6600 has the multiplier locked at 9, and I was wondering if the fact that my memory is not spec'ed to work higher than 6400
will limit my overclock.

I was looking at a recent article about Q6600 overcloking at bit-tech and found that they were using PC2-8000 memory sticks but i found that they were using a 10/11 FSB to RAM ratio in which and they were still running the memory at 800mhz at the default timmings and now the question is,

Having in mind that there have been quite a few steppings of the Q6600 and some o'clock better than others... Could i achive the same results with my
memory sticks?

Cheers.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 09:12 AM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Q6600

PC-6400 will be plenty for a Quad core unless you are using some ridiculous cooling that'd allow you to get over 3.6Ghz.

You should be able to do 1:1 ratio with no problems up to at least 400Mhz BUS (800Mhz DDR) but I doubt the CPU will make it that far if you're on air cooling, or even water.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-07, 09:48 AM   #3
randsom
harware junky
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: west linn, ore
Posts: 604
Default Re: Q6600

the multi is not locked at below 9x


the 680i chipset allows you to run linked or unlinked on the memory.which is very usefull.

so unless you are able to run insane front side bus, by lowering the mulit to 8 and cranking up the fsb, or just going for it at 9x youll be fine.

Nvidia has got a overclocking guide on their website, see if you can find it , if not pm me and ill email it to you.I have been overclocking for a while and it helped me with some of the oscure bios setting of the 680i
__________________
NEW RIG AND LOVIN IT
Q6600@3.45ghz w/ultra extreme,on a xfx 680I sli, ocz pc6400,sli'd xfx 8800 gtx, 2 seagate 500 giggers in raid 0,2 samsung 18x sata lightscribe burners, x-fi platinum,pc power and cooling 750 silencer, all wrapped up in a thermaltake armor

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=11469
randsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 05:39 AM   #4
JaylumX
Something Else
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somewhere Else
Posts: 374
Default Re: Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
PC-6400 will be plenty for a Quad core unless you are using some ridiculous cooling that'd allow you to get over 3.6Ghz.

You should be able to do 1:1 ratio with no problems up to at least 400Mhz BUS (800Mhz DDR) but I doubt the CPU will make it that far if you're on air cooling, or even water.
Mine made 430mhz @ 4-4-4-12 on air no problems.
__________________
Half the fun is discovering it yourself

i5 760 @ 4.0 | P7P55D-E | 8GB DDR3 | 60 & 120GB SSD - 1TB SATA 2 | HD 7950 @ 1200/6300 | HDAV 1.3 | HD598

Xbox 360 120GB | PS3 40GB | Wii 8GB | Sony KDL-32EX723BU
JaylumX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.