Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-07, 08:35 AM   #1
firefreak
End Of Line
 
firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, Earth, Sol
Posts: 16
Default Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

I've got 2 8800 Ultra and although I can enable SLI in nvidia-settings, it wont make a difference.

Having a look at the x log I spotted the following lines prefixed with 'NVIDIA':
Quote:
(WW) NVIDIA: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:134:0:0) found
(EE) NVIDIA(0): SLI lock timeout exceeded (type 1)
What do these two lines mean and can this be fixed? (the noted BusID refers to the second card)
firefreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 09:06 AM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

Please see the forum sticky posts.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 11:29 AM   #3
firefreak
End Of Line
 
firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, Earth, Sol
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

Sorry; bug report is now attached;

The sytem in question is a SUN workstation Ultra 40 M2 which SUN also provides with different SLI setups (various Quadro variants).
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (41.6 KB, 105 views)
firefreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 11:39 AM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

I don't believe that SUN qualifies their workstations with GeForce cards.

Have you verified that you're using the latest motherboard BIOS?
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-07, 11:45 AM   #5
firefreak
End Of Line
 
firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, Earth, Sol
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

According to the technical specifications (http://www.sun.com/desktop/workstati...ra40/specs.xml) several boards are possible, also the technical documentation explains how to set up SLI (BIOS, nvidia control panel).
I even contacted them explicitly whether dual SLI is also possible for the Quadro 5600 (because of the G80 chip) - which they confirmed possible.

I have installed the newest BIOS (Phoenix 4.0, Release 6.1, Version 1.2) that SUN provided (In that release support for Quadro 4600 and 5600 was added - see http://www.sun.com/desktop/workstati.../downloads.jsp)

edit: The motherboard is a 'private' build from Tyan for SUN, nicknamed 'Stuttgart'
firefreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 04:32 AM   #6
firefreak
End Of Line
 
firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, Earth, Sol
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

Bump for status update.

- Re lock timeout:
The SLI bridge was connected at the goldfingers closer to the back of the machine; For a test I put it on the other pair of connectors the 8800 Ultra has - and the error was squashed. (I verified this by putting the bridge back again for a test, by which the error was again present).

So, this error is fixed for now, but I still have no bar at the SLI HUD.


- Re no matching device section:
I still haven't found how a 'true' SLI compliant xorg.conf should look like (specifying two or one device) - For now I have a xorg.conf created with the command "nvidia-xconfig --sli=AFR --no-separate-x-screens --no-twinview" that I found somewhere on this forum.
While this removes the previously mentioned warning, it creates
Quote:
(EE) NVIDIA(1): Only one X screen is supported when SLI is enabled. Disabling
(EE) NVIDIA(1): this screen.
Either way - with one screen or two, no effects regarding SLI.

I have tested the SLI HUD with glxgears, doom3 and quake4 (The latter two with their newest builds and run with the "export __GL_DOOM3=1" command) - it always only shows the frame, but no bar.
A new report log is attached.

What am I missing or doing wrong?

Edit: I forgot: I once also tried a non-SLI, dual screen setup with the two cards - which worked.
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (44.4 KB, 101 views)
firefreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 03:43 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

The SLI HUD is configured in nvidia-settings.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-07, 04:32 PM   #8
firefreak
End Of Line
 
firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, Earth, Sol
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

Quote:
Originally Posted by netllama
The SLI HUD is configured in nvidia-settings.
Thank you for your reply, but I don't know what you mean.
What other option about the HUD apart from enabling it is there?

I have it enabled and in an OpenGL application I can see two white 1-pixel wide vertical bars, labelled with 'SLi' at the top. But no levelling 'bars' that should display the usage.
I took a picture of glxgears, showing what I mean (attached).
This view about this SLi HUD frame is the same for all (OpenGL) applications.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GLXgears.png
Views:	121
Size:	9.6 KB
ID:	27634  
firefreak is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-01-07, 09:29 PM   #9
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

In general, you won't get SLI scaling with windowed applications unless you have Quadro GPUs. For GeForce SLI, applications need to be running full-screen.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 02:05 AM   #10
firefreak
End Of Line
 
firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe, Earth, Sol
Posts: 16
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

It seems Doom3 and Quake4 can't be trusted, I followed your advice and made a small (fullscreen) test application. At higher resolutions I finally got a result (attached - 1680x1050).
Thank you for your help and hints so far.

One last question, though - why won't the (fullscreen) Doom3 based games show any scaling output, even when following the hint about the environment variable described here:
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8....html#id316907
?
Is it because, although fullscreen, they don't use the resolution of my desktop? (quake4 has 1600x1000 and doom3 doesn't even support widescreen, so 1280x1024).
I kind of answered this question myself - I ran my test application with 1600x1000 and no scaling

Edit: Well, The Doom3 based games can be tweaked in their config files easily (I should have expected that) -- running at 1680x1050 they finally use SLI. I'm really happy now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Test.png
Views:	108
Size:	13.1 KB
ID:	27640  
firefreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-07, 04:17 AM   #11
xbobmx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 191
Default Re: Problem getting 2nd 8800 Ultra to run under X

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefreak
Is it because, although fullscreen, they don't use the resolution of my desktop?
Games tend to use the Xf86VidMode extension to change modes, which just changes the resolution and pans to the upper left corner, without resizing the desktop itself. If you change the resolution & desktop size using the XRandR extension first, then start the game, it should be truly fullscreen.

Yeah, it sucks.
xbobmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[GeForce 8800 GTS] 2D rendering regression (extreme slowdown) introduced with 295.49 Seb L. NVIDIA Linux 0 06-22-12 06:48 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.