Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-07, 11:42 AM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Question Vista & Memory!

Hi all, Im running vista ultimate x32, im thinking of getting another 2GB of memory(see sig)so i will then have 4GB .... with me running the 32bit version vista will not see the full 4GB right? how much memory exactly will show up? ..... would i be better just getting a 1GB stick instead of two? ... lastly ... right now im running my 2GB in dual channel and if i was to only buy 1GB i will not be running dual channel anymore with 3GB right? will swapping from 2GB in dual channel to 3GB in single channel be better or would i be best just having 4GB in dual channel and loosing some memory? ... some of you might say just get ultimate x64, ive tried this and for some reason it seems to run like a two logged dog! ... this x32 version runs flawless!

So its either ..

1. Run 3GB without dual channel
2. Run 4GB with dual channel but loose\waist some memory becasue im on vista x32

Alot of questions i know but thanks for any help.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 8.1 Pro X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-07, 03:40 AM   #2
shteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Vista & Memory!

I'd say go with the extra stick and live with not being able to use all the extra - that's what I did. You'll lose about 640MB for your GFX card, plus a tad more for any other devices (Vista x32 sees 3072 MB on my PC which has a 768MB GTX and a X-FI with X-RAM).
__________________
i920@3.3GHz, Corsair Hydro, Asus P6T Dlx V2, 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600, Xonar DX, Palit GTX670, Corsair 1000W, Dell 2407WFP,, LG1710B (secondary), Crucial M4 128GB, 5 1TB drives ..., Win7 HP
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-07, 10:59 AM   #3
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Vista & Memory!

Well thats what i was thinking to be honest! ..... just have 4GB and loose abit! ... atleast if i upgrade to x64 in the future i will then benefit from the memory i will gain.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 8.1 Pro X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-07, 01:14 PM   #4
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,739
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Vista & Memory!

Go for 4GB... you will notice a difference and as you said... you will be ready for x64 when you are ready
__________________
Intel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core LGA 2011-v3 @ 4.7Ghz (Water Cooled) | ASRock X99 OC Formula LGA 2011-v3 (p1.40 BIOS) | 2x GeForce GTX 770 SLI 16X 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | QUAD Channel G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 2800 (14-14-14-30 @ 1T) | Sound Blaster Sound Core 3D | Samsung SSD 840 EVO Series 500GB SSD (Primary Drive) | Western Digital Black Edition 7200RPM 4TB (Archive Drive) | Windows 7 Pro x64
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-07, 01:50 PM   #5
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Vista & Memory!

Thanks for your replys guys, .... i think i will go with the 4GB after all, it sound the best option in the longrun!
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 8.1 Pro X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.