Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-07, 02:00 PM   #13
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by namuk
mm did you get any noise coming from hard drive i had 2 that went down and allways got clicking noise due to arm jamming

i could do a hdd test to see if that does anything all other stress tests have done only failed after coming out of test but never done a hard disk test
hdd made no noise, and it was. when i checked the hdd specs, that WD draws more power then lets say seagate, hitachi etc..
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-07, 04:04 PM   #14
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
hdd made no noise, and it was. when i checked the hdd specs, that WD draws more power then lets say seagate, hitachi etc..

how mutch more power? so was that faulty also i have a 900w targan
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-07, 03:19 PM   #15
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

done a mem test on both memorys and no errors 2 passes i have unplugged my slave hard disk and left system overclocked and mem at low latacys and 220 bus

to see wot happens
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-07, 04:55 PM   #16
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

system been running since friday after trying 2 hard drives and trying to reinstall i got a lockup then

so i swapped mem slots just to try it and had no shut down since (had a frezze in stalker but system did not lockup i no due to i have a lcd system screen)

so after all that sounds like the dam mem slots .. went to scan they just said drop it off to be sent away (i was well supprised they ussally are funny ie have to bring system in).. is asus a8n32 sli

anyone ever rmaed to asus? do you get a replacment or do they just repair it?
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-07, 08:59 AM   #17
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by namuk
system been running since friday after trying 2 hard drives and trying to reinstall i got a lockup then

so i swapped mem slots just to try it and had no shut down since (had a frezze in stalker but system did not lockup i no due to i have a lcd system screen)

so after all that sounds like the dam mem slots .. went to scan they just said drop it off to be sent away (i was well supprised they ussally are funny ie have to bring system in).. is asus a8n32 sli

anyone ever rmaed to asus? do you get a replacment or do they just repair it?
They usally just repair it if they can. Check your serial number when it comes back to see if it's the same.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-07, 01:21 PM   #18
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasedww
They usally just repair it if they can. Check your serial number when it comes back to see if it's the same.

thanks mate have just worte it down .. the system crashed again on other mem slots last night aaaaahhhhhhhh so i put same as mb in (one off mate )

to try out till saturday if ok then back too asus
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-07, 07:01 PM   #19
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
hdd made no noise, and it was. when i checked the hdd specs, that WD draws more power then lets say seagate, hitachi etc..

still going on tryed mates same type and bios mb ie a8n32 sli .. took my mb back was fine til 3 days later then dam shut down .. ahhhhhhhh
(fell sorry for comput place i took it back too i think that mb is ok and i got better temps on that mb) i need to phone them

did all tests again was seeing nothing in event veiwer nothing so swapped psu ie 1000w dxx enermax .. thought yea sorted then shut down so i recabled my fan controller nobs to see if this was shorting it out.. was ok then shut down again . and i was in case at time it happened cheaking system when was running ok and cables ..

when it happend i heard a click on my wd raptor a few times (have heard it before) never thought nothing of it . just thought it was access to drive (had the drive for a year and it allways sounded like this)

.

so it tapped the drive a few times not hard with in 2- 5 secounds system just shut down

so now i have disconnected drive and put my old 80gb seagate in and reinstalled ..(just with service pack 2 on on other updates) the raptor is now not even connected.. thing is now the seagate fells faster than the raptor??

this is getting me right down if this happens again then wot??

any ideas anyone??

oh thanks nekrosoft13 for pointing me there
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-07, 11:54 PM   #20
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: system shut down

I had a PSU die a slow death but what it was doing is dropping the 12v line down to as low at 10.5v and when it did that, I'd hear my Raptors click too, right before shut down.
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-04-07, 02:18 PM   #21
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

problem solved . the back of the raptor on the pcb board the two chips next to each other the solders are black. only saw this by accedent . looks like chips shorted . scan swaped drive today for me (it was 11 months old) and got my replaced mb back today also (witch the old one was ok)
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-07, 07:20 PM   #22
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: system shut down

just got my mb back from rma .. it is a differant board (serial differant) things is it was well rapped and looked new . packaging i looked at mb and the heatpipe setup (middle is damaged i straghtended it ) and some pins are bent i straghtended them also ..mmmm the slots do not look used at all ..

wot i want to no do i take the mb starght back for rma or try mb .. dam joke this why packege mb and get it back in this state ..
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
PhysX System Software 9.12.0604 News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 09:50 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:30 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.