Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-03, 04:30 AM   #13
gn000we
Earl of Tea
 
gn000we's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to gn000we
Default

I have tried startx.. still dont work.

Red Hat 9? That costs money, doesnt it?

Cheers for peoples help anyway.

I think the reason it can't find the module becuase I installed the RPM, then installed the tar file aswell!

There could be conflict, right?

I dunno.. Who knows but God alone.
__________________
gn000we
Jesus == Way == Truth == Life == Love == God
gn000we is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-03, 04:36 AM   #14
gn000we
Earl of Tea
 
gn000we's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to gn000we
Default XFree zipped (Power Archiver)

XFree zipped by Power Archiver!
Attached Files
File Type: zip my_xfree.zip (6.7 KB, 138 views)
__________________
gn000we
Jesus == Way == Truth == Life == Love == God
gn000we is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-03, 04:56 AM   #15
jmgonet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

After reading your XF86Config-4:
This is pretty much the same as mine.
If you just change the Load "nvidia" to Load "nv", the X mode will work again (but without the nice 3d acceleration).

After reading your log:
This is not the error I get.

I get two kinds of errors:
If I boot as normal, the mandrake tries to start the mode X at the very begining (before login). I can see the screen flickering for a couple of seconds. Then it switches back to a "graphic text" screen, and it asks for login. In this mode, I can't startx. I get the error:
"(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVdriver kernel module!"

If at boot I choose in the lilo the "fail safe option", the mandrake doesn't try to startx. The login happens in a normal text screen. I can't log as root at this point, but I can log as a standard user, and then:
If I try to startx, I get the error:
"perhaps you do not have console ownership?"
If I make a su-, to change to the root user, then the x starts.

Well, maybe it is not your case, as the error you get in the log seems to mean that the file with the nvidia module is missing.
__________________
To you do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears
jmgonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-03, 10:02 PM   #16
linux > windoze
|\|0 1|\/| |\|07 1337
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: That Place, Where The Stuff Is ;)
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to linux > windoze
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gn000we
I have tried startx.. still dont work.

Red Hat 9? That costs money, doesnt it?

nope, red hat is free

if you have broadband head over to www.linuxisos.org except i think the site is down right now
__________________
linux > windoze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-03, 06:53 AM   #17
gn000we
Earl of Tea
 
gn000we's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to gn000we
Default

56K mate.. like sucking ice cream through a straw.

But cheers man, i'll hop over there some time.. always good for a gander!
__________________
gn000we
Jesus == Way == Truth == Life == Love == God
gn000we is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-03, 07:09 AM   #18
gn000we
Earl of Tea
 
gn000we's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to gn000we
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmgonet

If I boot as normal, the mandrake tries to start the mode X at the very begining (before login). I can see the screen flickering for a couple of seconds. Then it switches back to a "graphic text" screen, and it asks for login. In this mode, I can't startx. I get the error:
"(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVdriver kernel module!"

If at boot I choose in the lilo the "fail safe option", the mandrake doesn't try to startx. The login happens in a normal text screen. I can't log as root at this point, but I can log as a standard user, and then:
If I try to startx, I get the error:
"perhaps you do not have console ownership?"
If I make a su-, to change to the root user, then the x starts.

Well, maybe it is not your case, as the error you get in the log seems to mean that the file with the nvidia module is missing.
hmm.. been thinking! Did you use the NVidia tar file or src.rpm?
Maybe the src.rpm might be more suited.. which would explain mine too!! COz i think I did rpm, then tar.. which probably messed with the rpm install!
__________________
gn000we
Jesus == Way == Truth == Life == Love == God
gn000we is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-03, 08:57 AM   #19
jmgonet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

Well, I must admit I went through the easy way: I get the .run file, located at
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=li..._ia32_1.0-4363

I executed it. It is like a windows installer. Just run this thing, and it does a lot of work (a lot of mysterous work).

After that I read the readme from nvidia. And I edited the XF86Config-4, and changed Load "nv" to Load "nvidia".

And that's all.

As the X was not working, I began to poke around. And I discover that, under certain circumstances, I was able to startx. So I thought I had messed up something. So I reinstalled the whole Mandrake again. Just to be sure. And, first of all, I installed the nvidia driver. But it didn't work.

In your case, I supose reinstall the rpm might correct some problems. Reading your log:

(II) LoadModule: "nvidia"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module nvidia
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(EE) Failed to load module "nvidia" (module does not exist, 0)

I have the feeling (faintest of feelings), that the reported error is rather a missing file than a wrong one. But, with linux who knows...

By the way, do you know where these modules are supposed to be located?
__________________
To you do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears
jmgonet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-03, 01:13 PM   #20
jmgonet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

Well, er...

I'm feeling quite stupid now...

I had a lot of troubles installing this nvidia driver, and after all it was so simple... I supose this must be happening to a lot of Mandrake users, who are completely newbies in linux, and are attracted to Mandrake because is suposed to be the easiest distribution.

So, if you are a Mandrake user, chances are that you're also a newbie.

To install this nvidia driver:
- First of all, EXIT from the X mode. This is clearly said in the nvidia readme, but not in terms that a dummy as me can understand:
- Open a console.
- type >>> su
- input the root password
- type >>> init 3
- login as the root
- execute the >>> sh NVIDIA...run
- exit from the root to a standard user
- >>> startx

Chances are that now the driver is working.
__________________
To you do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears
jmgonet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-15-03, 01:14 AM   #21
microbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1
Default

i'm new in mandrake too

i have install geforce 2 and the driver from
nvidia several time. for different raison.(6-8 time)

but here what i find

install the nvidia.run file more than once
i was install as root and after startingx and it was working rebooting not workin error.

install second time
everything fine

install more than 1 time it work for me

sorry for my english

fisrt post in a forum
i hope it help cause it working for me


microbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 11:12 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Mandrake 9 and GeForce 4 4400 Kashmeer NVIDIA Linux 3 10-11-02 06:20 PM
Mandrake 9 and Geforce 4 goyo NVIDIA Linux 1 08-18-02 05:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.