Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-07, 07:51 AM   #13
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
Vista 32 or 64? Make sure the driver is set to "single display performance mode", and that vsync is off. Apparently there is a bug these two things in Vista and/or 64-bit exe.
This was fixed in 169.04 but I just tried launching Cyrsis64.exe with 169.09 and I get the black screen again. Even tried single display performance mode/VSync off and still black screen. Can't anything just freaking WORK
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 08:10 AM   #14
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

Where's Fats_43 when I need him?
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 08:33 AM   #15
henrybravo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

six_storm, there's a simple solution to this issue. When you're in Vista, just run Crysis in DirectX9 mode and you'll see your frame rates will be very similar to XP. End of story.

HB
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz (47x100 @ 1.375v) cooled by XIGMATEK Aegir SD128264 Mega Killer | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
eVGA GTX 580 @ 851/1702/2097 | Corsair M4 64GB SSD (for OS drive) | Seagate 7200.12 1TB x2, WD Green 1TB x2 in RAID1 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Antec TPQ-850 power supply | Antec Twelve Hundred case | HP LP2475w monitor | Windows 7 Professional x64
henrybravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:06 AM   #16
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

Well we have been told many times... 4GB is the very suggested "recommended" for gaming in Vista. The OS is just such a hog 2GB won't cut it for games with large maps / textures.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:32 AM   #17
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by henrybravo
six_storm, there's a simple solution to this issue. When you're in Vista, just run Crysis in DirectX9 mode and you'll see your frame rates will be very similar to XP. End of story.

HB
Read the first post again. Both are in DX9. I finally got DX10 to run but the framerates are unbearable at 1680x1050.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:48 AM   #18
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

I run Crysis at 2560x1600, on Vista, it is playable when all settings are set to "medium". If i boot XP, i get similar performances with all settings set to "high" (except shadows to medium). Otherwise i get a nice slideshow.
This is with 169.09 SLI enabled, Single display GPU, VSync off, no AA.
I really need faster vid cards...
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-07, 09:57 AM   #19
agentkay
Registered User
 
agentkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 3,866
Default Re: Vista vs. XP in Crysis Performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by agentkay
The only exception was DX10-64bit, that one dropped the average by 5frames (9 out of 10 runs) but one time it was actually just as fast as DX10-32bit/DX9-XP. I don't know what happened in that one run.
Did the test again, and this time it was 5 out of 5 runs (DX10-64bit) that were just fast as DX10-32bit and DX9-32bit (XP). DX10-64bit seems to be very sensitive to some settings in the driver which can hurt performance and apparently a reboot can fix it. 2GB seem to be enough with all settings on High (in Vista64) because memory usage was around 70-80%
__________________

Intel I7-920 aircooled by Prolimatech Megahalems @ 3.8Ghz (200x19) | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R | OCZ Platinum 3x2GB DDR3-1600 RAM (7-7-7-24) @ 1600 | Gainward GTX 480 | WD Raptor 74GB + 150GB + Samsung 1TB | Soundblaster X-Fi Platinum | Corsair AX850 Gold | Coolermaster Stacker 830 silver | Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 | Logitech G15 keyboard | Logitech G25 Racing Wheel | Sharp LC-46 XL1E (gaming and work)
F CliffyB.
agentkay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.