Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-07, 01:16 PM   #1
jtsn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Geforce 6800 AGP voltage

I am unsure, if the Geforce 6800 AGP GPU runs in a 3.3 V only AGP mainboards. I know, there are older 6800 GPUs with a native AGP interface and newer ones with a PCIe/AGP bridge. The latter does not run in a old 3.3 V only AGP mainboard, because the PCIe/AGP bridge does not support that voltage.

But I have never seen a Geforce 6800 graphics card keyed for 3.3 V (AGP universal). Even the older boards without the PCIE/AGP bridge have only one notch and fit only into AGP 1.5 V capable mainboards.

My question is: Does the older Geforce 6800 GPU with the native AGP interface work in old 3.3 V AGP Mainboards? Or would such mainboards burn out?
jtsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-07, 07:12 PM   #2
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Geforce 6800 AGP voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsn
I am unsure, if the Geforce 6800 AGP GPU runs in a 3.3 V only AGP mainboards. I know, there are older 6800 GPUs with a native AGP interface and newer ones with a PCIe/AGP bridge. The latter does not run in a old 3.3 V only AGP mainboard, because the PCIe/AGP bridge does not support that voltage.

But I have never seen a Geforce 6800 graphics card keyed for 3.3 V (AGP universal). Even the older boards without the PCIE/AGP bridge have only one notch and fit only into AGP 1.5 V capable mainboards.

My question is: Does the older Geforce 6800 GPU with the native AGP interface work in old 3.3 V AGP Mainboards? Or would such mainboards burn out?
The standard, old, or whatever you want to call it, version of 6800 AGP card is NOT compatible with a 3.3v only mobo !

__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-07, 10:07 AM   #3
daskid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Geforce 6800 AGP voltage

how do i check the voltage rating of my video card. Whenever I use my GEForce 6200 on my ASUS P5VDC-MX motherboard, the screen is flickerish and the card is too hot when I touch it. My motherboard has a limit of 1.5V. Are the new NVIDIA cards needs more voltage or my motherboard is just not compatible with the card I bought. Can you suggest an NVIDIA card that is compatible with my motherboard? I need GEForce 6 or higher for me to play VT3 thanks!
daskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-07, 12:21 PM   #4
nIghtorius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 236
Send a message via ICQ to nIghtorius
Default Re: Geforce 6800 AGP voltage

Quote:
Originally Posted by daskid
how do i check the voltage rating of my video card. Whenever I use my GEForce 6200 on my ASUS P5VDC-MX motherboard, the screen is flickerish and the card is too hot when I touch it. My motherboard has a limit of 1.5V. Are the new NVIDIA cards needs more voltage or my motherboard is just not compatible with the card I bought. Can you suggest an NVIDIA card that is compatible with my motherboard? I need GEForce 6 or higher for me to play VT3 thanks!
6xxx series are AGP3.0 cards (AGP 8x).. these are always 1,5volts. So it's not your board providing insufficients volts.
__________________
New!
Rig 'Titan': Intel Core Duo 6600 | Zalman 9500CU-LED | 2GB DDR-2 667 | P5N-SLI | BFG 8800 GTX | 24" Dell FPW2407 | zalman ZM600-HP modular PSU | 1050GB TOTAL HDD | Photosmart 7760 | Microsoft Cordless Laser Desktop 5000 | Logitech Z2300 2.1 | MX700 Backup Mouse | Antec Performance One P180B (Black) | Vista Business 32-bits

Laptop: IBM ThinkPad T43 | Pentium M 750 | Wireless b/g | 60GB 7200RPM | DVD Writer | 512MB DDR2 | 1400x1050 15" | WinXP SP2
nIghtorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-07, 04:26 PM   #5
thekyro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Geforce 6800 AGP voltage

Besides 6800 AGP wont fit on an AGP 3.3v slot, if it does you will fry the video card, lol.
__________________
System: P4 3.0Ghz Asrock P4i65G S478 1GB DDR400 120GB IDE BFG 6800GS AGP8x - FW 163.75 - Windows XP Pro SP2 DVDRW16x ATX500w
thekyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What You Can Expect From GeForce GRID News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 04:20 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.