Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-06, 07:41 PM   #13
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

If you're using XGL, it is expected behavior that the NV-CONTROL extension would not be available/advertised.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-06, 05:49 PM   #14
GodFlesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

Hi,

I have the same exact problem:
Suse 10.1 + XGl on a 7400 with latest driver.

I'm running this on a laptop, so it's really annoying : i have no hardware way (button on the screen) to change the brightness of the screen !

Please provide us with a solution to be able to change brightness under XGl !!!!
GodFlesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-06, 08:56 AM   #15
pajin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 1
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

Hello Lonni,
I have probably the same problem like fabiom. I send you my bug file(log.zip).
But when I want to start X window (and internet), I had to change in drakconf graphical card. So the bug, whitch I send you is generated after this change. I add the old xorg.conf.
I'm solving this problem about one month, and nobody has advised me yet.
Thanks a lot for each advise
Paja
Attached Files
File Type: zip log.zip (24.5 KB, 257 views)
File Type: zip config.zip (2.2 KB, 373 views)
pajin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-06, 09:15 AM   #16
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

If you wish to use `nvidia-setings` with XGL, you need to set the DISPLAY environment variable such that it refers to the X server/screen underlying the XGL X server. The latter does not support/advertise the NV-CONTROL extension.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-06, 12:38 PM   #17
mackendw
Angus Macduff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North of 49th parallel
Posts: 15
Send a message via Yahoo to mackendw
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

The issue here is that you can bring up an X server on display :0 and run nvidia-settings on it...but the reason people are using it is to project the display on to a projector (dlp). The nvidia-settings isn't running on the display where the apps you'll want to display are ...so it kinda defeats the purpose.

Any suggestions? Having to shutdown Xgl/Compiz is a bit of a shame...

Wendell
mackendw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-06, 01:59 PM   #18
piotrq__
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 193
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

nvidia-settings --help

-c, --ctrl-display=[CTRL-DISPLAY]
Control the specified X display. If this option is not given, then nvidia-settings will control the display specifed by
'--display'. If that is not given, then the $DISPLAY environment variable is used.

Is this what you're looking for?
piotrq__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-07, 12:07 PM   #19
kaltenba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: how can i solve this? NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

Hello,
I have the same problem (ubuntu 7.04; NVIDIA GeForce 6200).
The bug report is attached.

Thank you, Tom
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (23.4 KB, 157 views)
kaltenba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-07, 02:43 PM   #20
alexhavy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.

Hi,

I am unable to set the native resolution (1680x1060) on my monitor (hp l2045w). I believe that n-vidia driver is the problem. I have the same error message each time I run nvidia-settings:
ERROR: NV-CONTROL extension not found on this Display.


ERROR: Unable to determine number of NVIDIA GPUs on ':0.0'.


ERROR: Unable to determine number of NVIDIA Frame Lock Devices on ':0.0'.


ERROR: Unable to determine number of NVIDIA VCSCs on ':0.0'.

I am attaching the bug report.
I am very very new to linux, so I need detailed instructions on how to fix it.

I appreciate any help. This far my screen has a standard (4:3 aspect ratio) resolution and everything is stretched and the fonts are distorted.

Thank you very much
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (142.3 KB, 173 views)
alexhavy is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Glx mrbig1344 NVIDIA Linux 7 09-30-02 06:45 AM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 08:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.