Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-03, 10:00 PM   #1
houseofmore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Default twin workspaces /w gnome 2.2

I have twin mode working, and have disabled xinerama as far as I know... however both monitors are just acting as 1 wide workspace. I'm able to switch workspaces (have 2 defined), but both monitors switch to the same one.

Does anyone know of how to have each monitor on its own workspace?

Using redhat 9 (gnome 2.2) w/ metacity.

Cheers!
-Jason
houseofmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-03, 04:34 PM   #2
Tobbera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Can you mail your config file to me? I'm trying to set up TwinView.

Regards
Tobias

tobias_r@home.se
Tobbera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-03, 06:11 PM   #3
houseofmore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Default

Here ya go!

Quote:
Originally posted by Tobbera
Can you mail your config file to me? I'm trying to set up TwinView.

Regards
Tobias

tobias_r@home.se
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (0, 101 views)
houseofmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-03, 06:16 PM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I think you'll want to see Appendix R in the README. It explains how to set it up so that each head on the video card is a separate screen as far as X is concerned. You'll probably have to manually start up another instance of Gnome on the second screen (:0.1), but that shouldn't be too hard.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-03, 08:27 PM   #5
houseofmore
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Default

Hey... worked! Kinda...

I have two independant screens now... except I can't actually get to the second one. Though:

mplayer abc.mpeg -display :0.1

Get's the mpeg running on the second screen. Anyone know how to get the gnome deskswitcher to switch screens instead of workspaces... or some way of switching the screen you're on?

<ctrl><alt>f1-12 only drop me in the console.

Cheers.

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
I think you'll want to see Appendix R in the README. It explains how to set it up so that each head on the video card is a separate screen as far as X is concerned. You'll probably have to manually start up another instance of Gnome on the second screen (:0.1), but that shouldn't be too hard.

Last edited by houseofmore; 06-26-03 at 08:58 PM.
houseofmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-03, 03:34 AM   #6
Tobbera
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by houseofmore
Here ya go!
Thank you!
Tobbera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-03, 08:51 AM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Can't you just move the mouse over to the other screen?

I guess I'm not sure what you mean by "can't actually get to the second one"...

Did you try starting up another instance of Gnome on -display :0.1?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$234.99 - MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 P News GeForce GTX 560 0 06-20-12 08:30 AM
$179.99 - MSI N560GTX Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 10:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.