Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-07, 12:22 AM   #1
abrichr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Can't change resolution

I am using Ubuntu 7.10 x64 on a Compal HEL80 laptop, which has an nVidia GeForce Go 7600 with 256mb.

Using Xorg's nv driver, I am able to switch between several different resolutions.

I require 3D rendering, however, so I installed the latest nVidia binary driver. After doing so, the only resolution available under System->Preferences->Screen Resolution, as well as System->Administration->Screens and Graphics, was the display's maximum resolution: 1680x1050. I generated a bug report using nvidia-bug-report.sh, which is attached to this post as nvidia-bug-report.log.1.

In /var/log/Xorg.0.log, I found the following lines:

Code:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No modes were requested; the default mode "nvidia-auto-select"
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     will be used as the requested mode.
So I decided to reload the nv driver, and look through the logs. Sure enough, I found the modelines it was using. I then generated another bug report; it is attached as nvidia-bug-report.log.2. After checking to make sure I could change the resolution, I took these modelines and added them to my xorg.conf in the "Monitor" section, as well as the corresponding Modes in the "Display" subsection in the "Screen" section, and changed the driver back to "nvidia".

This xorg.conf is viewable in nvidia-bug-report.log.3, which I generated after restarting X for a third time, at which point I was again left without the ability to change my display's resolution.

I have searched through several forums, have read through nVidia's online Readme, and have tried several different options, including:

Option "ModeValidation" "NoMaxPClkCheck" -> still unable to change resolution from 1680x1050

Option "UseEdidFreqs" "False" -> no display whatsoever.

I would greatly appreciate some insight into this matter.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.1-2-3.tar.gz (77.0 KB, 163 views)
abrichr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 12:35 AM   #2
abrichr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't change resolution

I have also started a thread over at ubuntuforums.org: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...57#post3930957

One individal suggested removing the modelines altogether, adding "Depth 24", as well as refresh rates for each resolution to the "Display" subsection in the "Screen" section, and adding "Option "UseFBDev" "true" " to the "Screen" section. I tried this, with the same results. I have attached another bug report.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.4.tar.gz (25.8 KB, 162 views)
abrichr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 03:33 AM   #3
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Can't change resolution

Please comment out the Modes line in the Screen section and then start X with "xinit -- -logverbose 6" and then generate and attach a new bug report.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 08:07 AM   #4
abrichr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't change resolution

I followed your instructions and have attached a new bug report.

It looks like for every mode it generates except for 1680x1050, either the vertical refresh or horizsync are out of range, or the pixelclock is too high.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.5.tar.gz (33.4 KB, 165 views)
abrichr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 01:14 PM   #5
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Can't change resolution

Yes, your flat panel is very picky about which refresh rates it will accept: It wants exactly 64.5 kHz horizontal and 61 Hz vertical. The driver relaxes the horizontal range to 30-75 kHz, but still requires exactly 61 Hz vertical. You can relax these checks by disabling UseEdidFreqs, as you tried, but you have to make sure your HorizSync and VertRefresh options are reasonable or you'll end up trying to drive your flat panel outside of its valid sync ranges.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-07, 10:22 PM   #6
abrichr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Can't change resolution

It worked! Thank you so much AaronP. I guess I forgot to include Mode values when I included UseEDIDFreqs "False". Thanks so much once again
abrichr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-07, 01:46 PM   #7
udo29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't change resolution

Hi,
I have simmilar problems. I use a HP LP2465 flat panel with a GeForce FX 5700. The display is connected a the DVI port. I spent a lot of time to modify the settings in the xorg.conf. But I can't enhanced the resolution from 1680x1050 pixel to 1920x1200 pixel. I try'd the latest drivers, but no success.
Do you can see the problem in the bug-report?

Greetings Udo
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (26.5 KB, 164 views)
udo29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-07, 05:01 AM   #8
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Can't change resolution

From your logfile:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce FX 5700 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): HP LP2465 (DFP-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): HP LP2465 (DFP-1): 150.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): HP LP2465 (DFP-1): Internal Single Link TMDS

(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 154.00 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 1968
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2000, 2080
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1200, 1203
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1209, 1235
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/-

Your card allows up to 150 MHz pixel clock and your 1920x1200 mode requires 154 MHz.
You need to replace the card or you can turn off the max pixel clock check at your own risk.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-16-07, 12:39 PM   #9
xbobmx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 191
Default Re: Can't change resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
Your card allows up to 150 MHz pixel clock and your 1920x1200 mode requires 154 MHz.
You need to replace the card or you can turn off the max pixel clock check at your own risk.
No, the 150 MHz pixel clock limitation is from the monitor (note the "DFP-1" label). You can probably generate a reduced blanking mode that will satisfy that pixel clock limit with that resolution.
xbobmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 03:11 AM   #10
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Can't change resolution

The message is unclear, but the limitation is from the card. A monitor would not specify it has a clock limit of 150 MHz, and then proceed to specify that it has a 1920x1200 mode at 154 MHz.
A reduced blanking modeline of 1920x1200 at 60Hz has a 154 MHz pixel clock. Believe me.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-07, 02:57 PM   #11
xbobmx
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 191
Default Re: Can't change resolution

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
The message is unclear, but the limitation is from the card. A monitor would not specify it has a clock limit of 150 MHz, and then proceed to specify that it has a 1920x1200 mode at 154 MHz.
A reduced blanking modeline of 1920x1200 at 60Hz has a 154 MHz pixel clock. Believe me.
Sorry, you're right; the line "(--) NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 193.2 MHz" is from the monitor's EDID, and CVT timings for 1920x1200 with reduced blanking are indeed 154 MHz. I stand corrected.

FWIW, the reason I thought it was the monitor's restriction (other than the misleading log message as you indicate) is that single-link TMDS usually goes up to 165 MHz. Not sure why that's not the case here. *shrug*
xbobmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-07, 01:24 PM   #12
udo29
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Can't change resolution

Thank you for answer.
I got the solution from a far side. After a big hardware chrash last weekend I must buy a new PC. With a new card too. :-(

Greetings Udo
udo29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU fan always at 100%, can not change the thermal settings legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 26 05-04-13 05:56 AM
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM
Resolution MichaelZ NVIDIA Linux 7 08-07-02 06:18 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.