Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-07, 12:51 PM   #1
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default HDMI 1.3 question

Ok, so as I understand it, HDMI 1.1 has enough bandwidth to support 8 channels (ie 7.1) of lossless uncompressed PCM.

However, to get 8 channels of TrueHD or DTS-HD MA you need HDMI 1.3?

Obviously if you have a player that decodes TrueHD or DTS-HD MA then you don't need anything other than HDMI 1.1, but something doesn't really make sense to me here. Shouldn't 8 channels of uncompressed PCM need more bandwidth than 8 channels of TrueHD or DTS-HD MA?
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 02:23 PM   #2
Harnagel
Lurker
 
Harnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 279
Default Re: HDMI 1.3 question

Wiki gives a pretty good overview of what's supported by which formats...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hdmi#HD..._media_players
__________________
Q6600-G0 @ 3.6 |GA-X38-DS4 | 4x2048MB DDR2-800 | Raptor 150 | BFG 8800GTS 512MB
Harnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-07, 03:02 PM   #3
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: HDMI 1.3 question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan
Ok, so as I understand it, HDMI 1.1 has enough bandwidth to support 8 channels (ie 7.1) of lossless uncompressed PCM.

However, to get 8 channels of TrueHD or DTS-HD MA you need HDMI 1.3?

Obviously if you have a player that decodes TrueHD or DTS-HD MA then you don't need anything other than HDMI 1.1, but something doesn't really make sense to me here. Shouldn't 8 channels of uncompressed PCM need more bandwidth than 8 channels of TrueHD or DTS-HD MA?
Technically, TrueHD and DTS-HD would both work just fine over any HDMI connection. The question is whether or not the receiving device knows how to decode that signal. Since these weren't made part of the standard until 1.3, most receivers prior to that don't support it.

That said, just so long as the source player converts the audio to regular PCM, it will work fine.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-08, 04:53 PM   #4
emacs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 62
Default Re: HDMI 1.3 question

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK
Technically, TrueHD and DTS-HD would both work just fine over any HDMI connection.
yes, because the audio bandwidth for HDMI has not changed at all; its around 37 Mbits/s. if your player can decode these formats it can send the linear PCM stream across even HDMI 1.0.
emacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
HDMI audio ELD weirdness RockHound NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 03:45 AM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.