Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-08, 03:30 PM   #13
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

pe1chl,

I remember reading a while back that Nvidia announced they would be supporting resolutions that aren't a multiple of 8 if that resolution was defined in the EDID. I'm pretty sure I read that.

Any chance of centering this screen's output?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 05:02 PM   #14
AndyCap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 7
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Option "ModeValidation" "NoWidthAlignmentCheck" is probably a winner for you if you want 1366x768. run X -logverbose 5 and check the output for why it rejects the mode you want. then check nvidia's readme for any possible way to fix that.
AndyCap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 05:50 PM   #15
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Unfortunately that option doesn't seem to make a difference. With verbose logging I still only get this in regards to 1366x768:

Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
Requested modes:
"1366x768"
No valid modes for "1366x768"; removing.

Any other ideas? Either 1366 or 1360 centered would be nice.
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 06:21 PM   #16
AndyCap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 7
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Well, you should see something earlier than that in the log. like the one you posted earlier around line 325:
Quote:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1360x768":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 86.96 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1360, 1480
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1528, 1774
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 778
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 783, 817
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (1360 x 768) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Native Resolution (Max: 1280 x 1024).
Anyhoo, time to get some sleep.
AndyCap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 06:23 PM   #17
bugspray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Why do you think your monitor supports 1366x768? The monitor's EDID information (which is authoritative, but not always accurate) says that 1360x768 is a supported resolution.

(--) NVIDIA(0): Detailed Timings:
(--) NVIDIA(0): 1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 86.96 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1360, 1480
(--) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1528, 1774
(--) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 768, 778
(--) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 783, 817
(--) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-

That comes from the EDID, not from the graphic card.
bugspray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 06:45 PM   #18
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

AndyCap,

Yeah I don't know why I don't.

bugspray,

I'm sure because it said 1366 on NewEgg and on the product packaging, and in 1360 mode I have six columns of black pixels on the left side.
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 06:49 PM   #19
AndyCap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 7
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Ah, no mode from edid, and probably no mode in X. I guess you'll have to make a modeline for it as well then. for instance with the tool "cvt 1366 768"
AndyCap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-08, 07:52 PM   #20
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggking7
bacon,

So that modeline doesn't do 1366 even though that's the way it's defined?
Yes I named it 1366 so I wouldn't be reminded each time I select it in the CP. My hdtv doesn't have an edid according to Toshbia and the res is supposed to be 1366, but windows won't do it either only 1360.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-07-08, 12:10 PM   #21
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: 1366x768 resolution is rejected

Has anyone been able to get an HDTV to display 1366 with a modeline if it isn't defined in EDID?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
Opinions on 1280x1024 resolution skipparoo NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 103 06-22-12 11:38 PM
Unable to get other display resolution jcdole NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 04:25 AM
What resolution do you all run Unreal2003 retail version at with all details on max.? imtim83 Gaming Central 9 10-04-02 10:17 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.