Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-08, 03:52 AM   #13
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: What's more important, CPU Multiplier or CPU FSB?

The main reason I said don't go over 800Mhz on the RAM is so you know it's not the RAM that's stopping you OC any higher. If you allowed your RAM to go up over 800Mhz while you upping the FSB and you hit a limit, it may be the RAMs limit and not the FSB. Keeping the RAM speed low would get round that.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-08, 09:15 AM   #14
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: What's more important, CPU Multiplier or CPU FSB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
The main reason I said don't go over 800Mhz on the RAM is so you know it's not the RAM that's stopping you OC any higher. If you allowed your RAM to go up over 800Mhz while you upping the FSB and you hit a limit, it may be the RAMs limit and not the FSB. Keeping the RAM speed low would get round that.

Oh ok, well I lowered my RAM to run at DDR2 533, but it's OC'd at 400MHz and my FSB is at 320MHz @ 10x multi. So far I haven't hit a wall at all.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-08, 10:01 AM   #15
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: What's more important, CPU Multiplier or CPU FSB?

9X 378fsb -VS- 8X 425fsb = no difference
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 12:11 AM   #16
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: What's more important, CPU Multiplier or CPU FSB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythy
9X 378fsb -VS- 8X 425fsb = no difference

Well duh, lol. So having a uber fast FSB doesn't matter?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-08, 07:24 PM   #17
ikjadoon
Registered User
 
ikjadoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 503
Default Re: What's more important, CPU Multiplier or CPU FSB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05
Well duh, lol. So having a uber fast FSB doesn't matter?
AFAIK, a higher FSB only equals higher memory bandwidth (if on a 1:1 ratio). If the RAM is the same on low FSB/high FSB (same total clock speed on CPU), there would no performance increase. I think.

~Ibrahim~
__________________
Overdrive PC Core2.SLI:

Core 2 Duo E6600 @ ~3.5GHz,4GB of DDR2-770, 8800GTS 640MB @ 621/1836, Western Digital 640GB, LITE-ON 20X, CM Stacker 830, Enermax 620W, Vista Ultimate 64-bit

3DMark '06: 10,302
SuperPI 1M: 15.194s
WEI: 5.8

ikjadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-08, 07:01 AM   #18
Absolution
AbsoUI
 
Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 933
Default Re: What's more important, CPU Multiplier or CPU FSB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ikjadoon
AFAIK, a higher FSB only equals higher memory bandwidth (if on a 1:1 ratio). If the RAM is the same on low FSB/high FSB (same total clock speed on CPU), there would no performance increase. I think.

~Ibrahim~
higher memory bandwidth and looser timings has shown to decrease performance in some situations

hardly any applications even come close to using all the bandwith, keep the timings tight

and higher FSB = higher stress on the system all around, with a negligible performance increase, not worth the increase
Absolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 08:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.