Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-03, 11:33 AM   #1
DaBriKo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default No Device Detected/ No Screen Found

Getting the message:

++++++++++++++++++
(WW) NVIDIA: Chipset "GeForce2 GTS" in Device section "Card0" isn't valid for this driver
(EE) No devices detected.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
++++++++++++++++++

Tried setting up through sysinstall and shows "nvidia" is there to use. If I select the "GeForce2 GTS" driver, it changes back to nv.
Manually changing it gives you the above message.

32 MB GeForce2 GTS/Pro
FIC AZ11EA MoBo
512 MB SDRAM
1.2 Ghz AMD Athlon T-Bird

Log file and XF86Config attached.
Attached Files
File Type: txt logfiles.txt (17.0 KB, 179 views)
DaBriKo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-03, 12:22 PM   #2
Dainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Default Re: No Device Detected/ No Screen Found

Quote:
Originally posted by DaBriKo
Getting the message:

++++++++++++++++++
(WW) NVIDIA: Chipset "GeForce2 GTS" in Device section "Card0" isn't valid for this driver
(EE) No devices detected.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
++++++++++++++++++

Tried setting up through sysinstall and shows "nvidia" is there to use. If I select the "GeForce2 GTS" driver, it changes back to nv.
Manually changing it gives you the above message.

32 MB GeForce2 GTS/Pro
FIC AZ11EA MoBo
512 MB SDRAM
1.2 Ghz AMD Athlon T-Bird

Log file and XF86Config attached.
# out the chipset line in your XF86Config file.
Dainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-03, 01:03 PM   #3
DaBriKo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Ok, I tried that and it seems to be pulling up fine. Rather slow on starting the X server.

Getting this as well now:

>> running as realtime process now (priority 15)
mcop warning: user defined signal handler found for SIG_PIPE, overriding
Can't get own host name. Your system is severely misconfigured

WARNING: KDE detected X Error: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter) \x09
Major opcode: \x0e
DaBriKo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-03, 01:35 PM   #4
Dainin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Default

edit /etc/rc.conf and ensure you have the following line:

hostname="computername.domain.com"
Dainin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 09:55 AM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
no screens found + BusID ?? orion NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 08:34 AM
Undefined Device Error - Can't startx linuxdave NVIDIA Linux 2 08-07-02 03:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.