Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-08, 01:58 PM   #1
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Build Help!

So I'm helping my friend replace his mobo with an AM2 and the new board only has 1 IDE slot. His old hd isn't sata so there arent enough slots for the disc drives and the hard drive. He kind of needs a new hard drive anyways but would rather not spend the money...plus I'm not sure if his psu has any sata power connectors. Anyone have a solution? I saw they make adapters for IDE to sata. Would this be the cheap solution?
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 03:08 PM   #2
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Build Help!

yah you could do it through adapters.
they make psu adapters from molex to sata
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 12:34 AM   #3
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Build Help!

well if he kept the IDE hd he wouldnt need the molex adapter...and just get an IDE to SATA adapter...that will probably be his cheapest solution I'm thinking
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablo 3 Wizard build guide News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 03:40 PM
Diablo 3 build videos: PC Gamer's Demon Hunter and Barbarian News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 12:30 PM
Build versus buy: One company's decision to go it alone News Archived News Items 0 05-13-12 09:40 PM
Diablo 3 build guide: Barbarian, Demon Hunter, Monk, Witch Doctor and Wizard News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 01:00 PM
My source RPM won't build right! z28Power NVIDIA Linux 5 09-18-02 12:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.