Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-08, 08:11 PM   #1
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

I just bought a logitech usb desktop microphone, took it home, and realized that it doesn't work with my vista 64 bit system. Do you guys know of any good / cheap ones that will work with my operating system? id like to keep the price around $20 and I would prefer a desktop one if possible. Thanks in advance for your help.
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-08, 09:27 PM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

Does it HAVE to be USB based? A normal mic will work fine with your soundcard.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 08:43 AM   #3
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

Any particular headsets / microphones that you would recommend? I would like a cheap one for about $20 if possible. Thanks
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 09:56 AM   #4
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

Crap. That was the mic I was looking at getting.

R u serious? No 64bit support?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 10:13 AM   #5
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/we...s/258&cl=GB,en

If you are having a headset you might as well get a sennheiser pc headset so no need for a desktop microphone.
http://www.sennheiser.co.uk/uk/icm.n...ser_headphones
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 12:37 PM   #6
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide
Crap. That was the mic I was looking at getting.

R u serious? No 64bit support?
Yea I was kinda upset after I researched it quite a bit and then purchased it at a really good deal. Then I realized it was not compatible with 64-bit. What a disappointment.
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 12:41 PM   #7
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan29121
Yea I was kinda upset after I researched it quite a bit and then purchased it at a really good deal. Then I realized it was not compatible with 64-bit. What a disappointment.
are you really sure?

right from logitech

Quote:
It uses the native USB drivers already present in your operating system.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 12:45 PM   #8
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
are you really sure?

right from logitech
I couldn't get any answers from logitech but after seaching into it, it appears that other people cant get it to work with 64-bit. I have a dual boot setup on my computer with xp pro and vista 64bit and it worked great on my xp but not on my vista, and since there is no available drivers to download your stuck with only x86 support.
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-18-08, 12:54 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

thats the point, there is no drivers for any system, no xp32, 64bit, no mac, no 98, no me, no vista.

all drivers are buid in OS.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-08, 01:08 PM   #10
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Vista 64-bit compatible microphone?

wdma_usb.inf has the driver details

[Strings]
MSFT="Microsoft"
MfgName="(Generic USB Audio)"

USB\CLASS_01.DeviceDesc="USB Audio Device"
USBGenericDesc="USB Audio Device"
USBGenericMicDesc="USB Audio Microphone"
USBGenericMIDIDesc="USB MIDI Device"
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.