Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-08, 03:06 PM   #13
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

You just revealed Slippes porn stash
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-08, 05:23 PM   #14
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

holy crap, the heat and power for that must be enormous. but i'd love to have that much space...not sure what i'd do with it, but it'd be nice
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-08, 06:17 PM   #15
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

Nice pic DVS.


You can have as many drives as you can fathom in one pc. If your going to be putting 26 drive into a pc your probably not going to be running them as seperate hard drives but with a good raid controller instead. Take this for example. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...1027&Tpk=areca

One skulltrail board + 4 areca 24 port cards = 100+ hard drives in one pc.


@The op: What mainboard are you using? A lot of the newer intel boards only have one IDE header on them so they can in fact only support 2 ide devices. If that's what you have then you would need to get sata devices in order to hook them up.

EDIT: I just looked at your signature and yes, if you get 2 more sata drives you can hook them up without problems.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-08, 08:21 PM   #16
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

I can't wait to build my RAID server. Soon.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 10:04 PM   #17
KasuCode
Wiley
 
KasuCode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via AIM to KasuCode
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stncttr908
I can't wait to build my RAID server. Soon.

That will be my next big project aswell.
__________________

Check Out
~CrossWater~
KasuCode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-08, 11:04 PM   #18
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48
holy crap, the heat and power for that must be enormous. but i'd love to have that much space...not sure what i'd do with it, but it'd be nice
Sad thing is, they are all only 500mb drives. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-08, 12:16 PM   #19
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: What is the maximum amount of disc drive you can have in a computer?

@pic ,Defrag time - 3 months
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Western Digital drive performance Nemesis General Hardware 6 08-15-02 08:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.