Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-03, 06:45 AM   #25
Deimos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
You know, I was just thinking about this, and how the hell do you play a game with dual monitors? A first person shooter I mean.

The center of your screen would be split between the two monitors! And I personally have never seen monitors without borders.... how does this work!?!?!?!?!
System Shock (yes, the original) had a main character who could be enhanced by inserting certain devices. One of those devices opened up a small window on the screen and rendered a view of what was behind you. Great to have in order to avoid having enemies sneaking up on you from the back. I can imaging putting that view on a separate monitor instead of in a window.

A team-game, such as Team Fortress, could conceivably add command/hq information on a second screen. And so on and so forth.

So I guess it depends on the shooter if and for what that extra monitor(s) can be used.

/Deimos
Deimos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 03:54 PM   #26
vvolkman
IMAGEWARE
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 44
Default Poor Man's Parhelia

I've got three 19" DELL monitors on my desktop. I have a GeForce MX440 Dual monitor AGP card and GeForce MX440 PCI card. It works pretty well and gives me a seamless desktop acoss three monitors. Best of all, you can put this together for under $100 assuming you already own three nice monitors.

I have my "Start" menu in the center monitor, my icons on the left monitor.

I could have gone to four monitors for about the same price, but the dual VGA PCI MX440 cards can be difficult to buy since so few were made (as opposed to dual VGA AGP).

FYI

vvolkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 07:18 PM   #27
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default

I have an old Pentium III that drives 8 displays through one dual-head AGP GeForce2 MX and three dual-head PCI GF2 MX. Eight monitors in 2x4 (horizontal) are good for marketing displays and 4x2 (vertical) for Karaoke bars.

However for computing purposes, whenever I connect more than three displays to one machine, I find the cursor gets lost a lot, and I have to call home often. Three 1024 displays is more than enough real estate for me.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-03, 07:25 PM   #28
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
You know, I was just thinking about this, and how the hell do you play a game with dual monitors? A first person shooter I mean.

The center of your screen would be split between the two monitors! And I personally have never seen monitors without borders.... how does this work!?!?!?!?!
I remember a few years ago games developers told future games will support dual monitors so last year few games support dual monitors like Star Trek Armada 2 and others, now here should be lots of games support dual monitors. I will try to find out which games current support dual monitors.

Maybe Powerstrip tool will help play games in dual monitors?
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 01:25 AM   #29
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

I find it very interesting when I searched for multi monitors games support, lots of games support already.

First of all here full list of games with latest patches support multi monitors such as dual, triple, quad and more:

Age Of Mythology
Aliens vs. Predator 2
Aliens vs. Predator 2: Primal Hunt
Anarchy Online
Aqua GT
Asheron’s Call 2: Fallen Kings
BANDITS - Phoenix Rising
Ballistics
Bloodrayne
Chaser
Clive Barker's Undying
Deadly Dozen: Pacific Theater
Deus Ex
Dogs of War
Dogs Playing Poker
Duke Nukem: Manhattan Project
Enclave
EVE: The Second Genesis
F1 2002
Freedom Force
Gladiators: Galactic Circus Games
Gore: Ultimate Soldier
Grand Prix 4
Heavy Metal: FAKK2
IGI 2: Covert Strike
IL-2 Sturmovik: Forgotten Battles
Line of Sight: Vietnam
Live For Speed
Mafia
Microsoft Baseball 2000
Microsoft Combat Flight Simulator
Microsoft Combat Flight Simulator 2
Microsoft Combat Flight Simulator 3
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2002
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004
Mobile Forces
Monster Truck Rumble
Motocross Madness 2
Moto GP 2
NASCAR Racing 2002 Season
NASCAR Racing 2003 Season
Neverwinter Nights
Operation Flashpoint: Resistance
Picassio
Planetside
Pro Race Driver
Quake
QuakeGL
Quake 2
Quake 3
Quake 3 Arena
Quake 3 Team Arena
Racer
Renegade Racing
Rise of Nations
Return to Castle Wolfenstein
RUNE
Serious Sam: Gold Edition
Serious Sam: Second Encounter
Shadowbane
Soldier of Fortune 2
Splinter Cell
Star Trek Armada
Star Trek Armada 2
Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force
Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force Expansion Pack
Star Trek Elite Force II
Star Wars Galaxies: An Empire Divided
Star Wars Jedi Knight 2 - Jedi Outcast
Strike Fighters: Project 1
Super Taxi Driver
Tactical Ops: Assault On Terror
The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind
The Elder Scrolls III: Tribunal
The Elder Scrolls III: Bloodmoon
The Wheel of Time
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Desert Siege
Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder
Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness
Tribes 2
Trainz
Unreal
Unreal II: The Awakening
Unreal Tournament 2003
Unreal Tournament
Wild Metal Country
Vietcong
X-Plane

And all OpenGL games should work fine, OpenGL has multi monitors support, strange it never mentioned Quake engine Half Life games, of course it will work fine. Also all games based on LithTech 2 engine will work too.

Half Life
Half Life: Blueshift
Half Life: Counterstrike
Half Life: Opposing Force
No One Live Forever 2
Soldier of Fortune

Games in development:

Galaxy Andromeda
Panzers
Breed
Bulletproof Monk
Devastation
Dirt Track Racing 2
Dungeons & Dragons® Online
Freedom: Soldiers of Liberty
Haegemonia: Legions of Iron
Hidden & Dangerous 2
Horizons
Hover Ace
Imperium Galactica 3: Genesis
Middle-Earth Online
Mortyr 2
Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide
Operation Flashpoint 2
Project Entropia
Trainz Railroad Simulator 2004
Tribes Vengeance
Unreal Tournament 2004
Vendetta
X2: The Threat

And many more not yet confirmed to public.

Of course games not mentioned will be Doom 3 and I wonder will Half Life 2 support multi monitor? I am not sure whether it will support OpenGL, I heard and read about it support DirectX at the moment.

Here are links for multi monitors games:

http://www.planetquake.com/mhg/
http://www.realtimesoft.com/multimon/links.asp
http://www.matrox.com/mga/3d_gaming/surrgame.cfm
http://www.multiplemonitors.org/Page...%20Gaming.html
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 01:33 AM   #30
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

Wow, thats a nice list!

One question tho, how do games like Deus Ex, Quake, Half-Life (or any other first person game) use 2 monitors?????
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 01:40 AM   #31
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
Wow, thats a nice list!

One question tho, how do games like Deus Ex, Quake, Half-Life (or any other first person game) use 2 monitors?????
As mentioned at the site http://www.planetquake.com/mhg/

It explained how to do it by modified Quake's CFG or INI file to change the resolution size to wide fit into 2 monitors.

I am sure here are lots of home made CFG and INI files on internet for dual monitors use in Quake and Half Life, same thing to Widescreen monitor support too.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 01:45 AM   #32
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
As mentioned at the site http://www.planetquake.com/mhg/

It explained how to do it by modified Quake's CFG or INI file to change the resolution size to wide fit into 2 monitors.

I am sure here are lots of home made CFG and INI files on internet for dual monitors use in Quake and Half Life, same thing to Widescreen monitor support too.
nonononnon... I mean, HOW WOULD IT WORK?

Is your screen split in half, down the middle? If so, it would be almost impossible to play with a 3-4 inch line (monitor boarder\space between monitors) between the left side of your crosshair and the right side. I understand how some strategy games could do this, by having more menus\buttons on another screen, but when you start cutting images in half (3d images specificly), the whole multi-monitor idea just doesnt make sense.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-15-03, 01:58 AM   #33
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
nonononnon... I mean, HOW WOULD IT WORK?

Is your screen split in half, down the middle? If so, it would be almost impossible to play with a 3-4 inch line (monitor boarder\space between monitors) between the left side of your crosshair and the right side. I understand how some strategy games could do this, by having more menus\buttons on another screen, but when you start cutting images in half (3d images specificly), the whole multi-monitor idea just doesnt make sense.
Ah right I get it, well with this for first person shooter like Quake and Half Life, yes the screen will spilt in half. In strategy games like Star Trek Armada 2 is good for dual monitor, on monitor 1 is the same 2D visual with menu and controls buttons as single monitor and the 2nd monitor has full 3D visual.

Widescreen monitor is the only solution for first person shooter games so that why I prefer widescreen monitor over dual monitor screen split 3 inch apart.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 02:33 AM   #34
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AthlonXP1800
Ah right I get it, well with this for first person shooter like Quake and Half Life, yes the screen will spilt in half. In strategy games like Star Trek Armada 2 is good for dual monitor, on monitor 1 is the same 2D visual with menu and controls buttons as single monitor and the 2nd monitor has full 3D visual.

Widescreen monitor is the only solution for first person shooter games so that why I prefer widescreen monitor over dual monitor screen split 3 inch apart.
Man, that is pretty lame...

Id never be able to play an FPS with more than 1 monitor.... just wouldnt work...
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 04:33 AM   #35
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
Man, that is pretty lame...

Id never be able to play an FPS with more than 1 monitor.... just wouldnt work...
I may got an idea, probably risky method.

Unscrew 2 monitors back case and remove both front cases/boarders and maybe here protection cover, remove it too with caution of electric shock and it probably will able to sit side by side at about less than 0.5 inch apart.

Last edited by AthlonXP1800; 07-15-03 at 04:37 AM.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-03, 08:29 AM   #36
extreme_dB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
Man, that is pretty lame...

Id never be able to play an FPS with more than 1 monitor.... just wouldnt work...
It would work with 3.
extreme_dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:04 PM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:10 AM
quadro 1000m with 2 external monitors stephenh NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:04 PM
How's Phillips for Monitors? Switch General Hardware 11 10-09-02 08:40 AM
Monitors found but no configuration suitable bluephile NVIDIA Linux 4 08-31-02 07:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.