Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-08, 12:47 PM   #13
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

Well first - Vista has issues. I can orthos for hours with my new E8400 @ 4.1 Ghz, however Vista will instantly crash on boot up. Same PC I have 2 HDs one with XP install, the other with Vista x64 SP1. Orthos doesn't work properly under Vista.

It really seems like max overclocks are severely limited with Vista however. Now my quad doesn't suffer the same fate. 3.6 @ 1.44v is rock stable in both. Maybe Vista just doesn't like an E8400 for some reason. I game, orthos, memtest all perfect with the chip @ 4.1Ghz. But boot into Vista and it's BSOD after BSOD. The OS is just too beta even with SP1.

Until you lock down your stability, stick with XP, otherwise you are chasing OS ghosts with Vista.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-08, 12:59 PM   #14
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

  1. Nvidia chipsets are junk
  2. Prime95 > Orthos for stability testing
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-08, 03:27 PM   #15
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK
  1. Nvidia chipsets are junk
  2. Prime95 > Orthos for stability testing
1. Agreed.
2. Orthos is Prime95 with a GUI interface. So Orthos = Prime95.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-08, 09:34 PM   #16
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conroejoe
2. Orthos is Prime95 with a GUI interface. So Orthos = Prime95.
Actually, no. Prime95 stresses higher than Orthos, a 12W higher max power draw, and better OS scheduling as well. The latest versions Prime95 automatically scales according to the number of cores. Orthos however uses old Prime95 algorithm that will not give accurate result on Core 2, especially quads.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-08, 09:59 PM   #17
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

ok Your mobo's **** we all know that I had the same problem trying to hold 3GHz on a A1 version. I got a P5K Deluxe and I hold 3.6 easy As for Orthos you guys are idiots Grab OCCT wtf is with you damn Orthos whores?!?!?
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-08, 10:05 PM   #18
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

I like both OCCT and Prime95, in fact I use both. OCCT for memory and NB stress, Prime for CPU. Orthos is completely useless to me.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-08, 11:45 PM   #19
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

agreed
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-08, 08:40 AM   #20
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
Actually, no. Prime95 stresses higher than Orthos, a 12W higher max power draw, and better OS scheduling as well. The latest versions Prime95 automatically scales according to the number of cores. Orthos however uses old Prime95 algorithm that will not give accurate result on Core 2, especially quads.

Orthos just doesn't work for quads yet. However, it's fine on duals.

Orthos isn't a different program, just doesn't use the latest build of Prime that can run 4 threads - Orthos is just a gui lol, not a different app.

Summary
Stress Prime 2004 is a better, I hope, GUI interface to Prime95's Torture Test. Thanks go to the Prime95 people for providing the Prime95 source code (version 24.14).


http://sp2004.fre3.com/
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-08, 08:40 AM   #21
conroejoe
*BANNED*
 
conroejoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 969
Default Re: How can Orthos run for an hour if Prim95 fails after a minute?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mythy
ok Your mobo's **** we all know that I had the same problem trying to hold 3GHz on a A1 version. I got a P5K Deluxe and I hold 3.6 easy As for Orthos you guys are idiots Grab OCCT wtf is with you damn Orthos whores?!?!?

30 mins isn't nearly enough to declare an OC stable.
conroejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.