Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-08, 01:54 AM   #1
IcoNyx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default 3D Effects with dual 8800 GT...

I just finished a massive refit of my workstation to include dual Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTs

Now Im not trying to do SLI or any such nonsense, I just have 4 monitors (dont knock it until you've tried casting your eyes across 4 19" LCDs, all in a row... I may have to change my pants... again... )

anyhoo, I have installed fedora 8 clean, then immediately installed the nvidia-kmod from livna (kmod-nvidia#169.09-7.lvn8) after installing it I configured my video cards thusly:

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder26)  Fri Jan 11 14:27:25 PST 2008

# Xorg configuration created by livna-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "single head configuration"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 1280
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 0 0
    Screen      2  "Screen2" 2560 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load            "extmod"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "AIGLX" "on"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us+inet"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL 1707FP"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL 1704FPT"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor2"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL 1704FPT"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:6:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:6:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "1280x1024 +0+0; 1280x960 +0+0; 1280x800 +0+0; 1280x720 +0+0; 1152x864 +0+0; 1024x768 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Videocard1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen2"
    Device         "Videocard2"
    Monitor        "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
as you can see, I have set up the cards with each display as a separate X screen then used xinerama to merge them into one large desktop.

Now I know what you are thinking; "well thats not going to work" or something to that effect, well with my old 6800s it ran like a champ!

now comes the problem, I tried to enable "desktop effects" after installing compiz. here is what I get:

Code:
[IcoNyx@localhost ~]$ desktop-effects 

Gdk-ERROR **: The program 'gtk-window-decorator' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'RenderBadPicture (invalid Picture parameter)'.
  (Details: serial 268 error_code 165 request_code 154 minor_code 8)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
   option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
aborting...

(process:3334): Gdk-ERROR (recursed) **: The program 'gtk-window-decorator' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'RenderBadPicture (invalid Picture parameter)'.
  (Details: serial 270 error_code 165 request_code 154 minor_code 7)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
   option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
aborting...
Multiple segmentation faults occurred; can't display error dialog
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
compiz (core) - Fatal: glXCreateContext failed
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
Now I should note, I get prety much the same thing if I run it as root, except I ALSO get some additional authentication errors like this:

Code:
# desktop-effects 
compiz (core) - Warn: SmcOpenConnection failed: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed

...
finally I checked to see if 3d effects even works using glxgears... glx gears worked fine and glx info shows direct rendering as enabled...

I did some research online and it appears that there were a rash of these back in December, but most either were resolved or gave up but ither way the posts were not updated with ether so I have to assume SOMEONE figured it out.

I also am not totally locked in on the method I am using... all I really want here is 3d effects on all 3 displays with one catch: I DONT want seperate desktops on each display...

any help would be appreciated.
IcoNyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-08, 02:45 AM   #2
IcoNyx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: 3D Effects with dual 8800 GT...

ok, I KNOW this is an issue with Xinerama... and I also have noticed something disturbing... when I enable twinview on two of the displays and set the third as a seperate X display, on the twinview displays when I maximize a window, it snaps to occupy BOTH displays... that is SO wrong, its is not funny.

so I AM set on xinerama... so now the question... how do I enable 32 effects with xinerama?
IcoNyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-08, 04:13 AM   #3
adamk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Default Re: 3D Effects with dual 8800 GT...

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcoNyx
ok, I KNOW this is an issue with Xinerama... and I also have noticed something disturbing... when I enable twinview on two of the displays and set the third as a seperate X display, on the twinview displays when I maximize a window, it snaps to occupy BOTH displays... that is SO wrong, its is not funny.

so I AM set on xinerama... so now the question... how do I enable 32 effects with xinerama?
Till nvidia fixes their drivers to properly support xinerama + composite, you don't.

Adam
adamk75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-08, 11:53 AM   #4
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: 3D Effects with dual 8800 GT...

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamk75
Till nvidia fixes their drivers to properly support xinerama + composite, you don't.
It's an X server limitation, not a driver limitation.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-08, 01:00 PM   #5
IcoNyx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: 3D Effects with dual 8800 GT...

figgures... well I guess I am going back to debian... at least with debian Im not tempted to run 32 effects (debian is too clean and 3d effects makes it look out of place)
IcoNyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-08, 10:03 PM   #6
hvengel
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 57
Default Re: 3D Effects with dual 8800 GT...

You can run Compiz on a multi-monitor system if you use twinview. But I don't know if twinview will work for more than two monitors or if it will work for more than 1 video card. You also lose the ability to control the gamma tables for each monitor (needed for color critical work) if you use twinview because twinview does not correctly support the standard APIs for this.
hvengel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Maximus Fires Up Visual Effects In Men in Black 3 News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 07:00 PM
[GeForce 8800 GTS] 2D rendering regression (extreme slowdown) introduced with 295.49 Seb L. NVIDIA Linux 0 06-22-12 07:48 AM
CSS filter effects get GPU-accelerated in Chrome News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 02:20 PM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 03:02 PM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 01:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.