Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-08, 10:26 AM   #25
pawels133
Registered User
 
pawels133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

@NvFuchs,
In my case it's someting else:

Just browsing this forum:
http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/5...ekranu1gt5.png

Browsing homepage:
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/6...ekranu2vd5.png

Moving mouse from File to Help (I cought realy 'low' CPU usage on this screenshot):
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/6...ekranu3ew3.png

This happens on Firefox 2 and Konqueror (scrolling is smoother) and without flashplayer plugin too.
__________________
Not everybody can smoke and drink... xd
pawels133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 11:16 AM   #26
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

As I already said:

I guess in many cases the problem is

- the configuration (e.g. Xorg configuration)
- the software (firefox / gtk compiled with funny options)
- the distribution (or the packages it distributes)

as you can see

http://www.fuchsnet.ch./files/nv/compizbrowsing.png
http://www.fuchsnet.ch./files/nv/compiz-scrolling.png

same page, mutliple tabs open.
Screenshot taken while idle and while scrolling
(by taking a screenshot after a delay of 2s and scrolling)

and for the "this is because you are using compiz"-people:

http://www.fuchsnet.ch./files/nv/fluxbox-browsing.png
http://www.fuchsnet.ch./files/nv/fluxbox-scrolling.png

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 11:40 AM   #27
pawels133
Registered User
 
pawels133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

I'm not using compiz. I've tried Firefox frome repo and from mozilla page (no difference). My xorg.conf seems to be all right:

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "evdev"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "pl"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 85.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6800 XT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "1024x768_85 +0+0; 800x600_85 +0+0; 640x480_85 +0+0; 640x400_85 +0+0"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
Option "RenderAccel" "True"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "nvidia-auto-select"
EndSubSection
EndSection
__________________
Not everybody can smoke and drink... xd
pawels133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 11:59 AM   #28
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

You can try some options out of mine,
but please do read the comments and the warning about x font server.
I am not responsible if your X11 wont work anymore or something else happens (e.g. evil monsters raise from under your bed, eat your mouse and keyboard and so on)

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Instal..._R61#xorg.conf

As said, I am not experiencing this slowness, neither in compiz
nor in fluxbox or anything else.

The only thing that causes firefox to slow down / stutter is

a) flash, which is bloody awful implemented in linux
b) huge pages which are still loading (images) when scrolling

This slowness is driver independent for me.

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:01 PM   #29
Gregor A.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NvFuchs
- the software (firefox / gtk compiled with funny options)
We have one flash based banner in the right corner on nvnews.net
Flash on Linux with Nvidia is not accleratet.

Yes, why not?
Please go to youtube and open a video in full screen mode.
It is not possible to become more than 15 fps ...
Gregor A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:33 PM   #30
txf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 272
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

I usually find qt3 apps to be nice and snappy. However the problems begin on toolkits that rely on Render to do their drawing namely gtk and qt4 . Gtk is mostly alright and is also dependent on how "blingy" the engine is (murrine is slower than clearlooks). However qt is a nightmare. trying to scroll konsole in kde4 is an exercise in patience.

I can't say that these issues are due to distribution as I've tried suse, arch and ubuntu.

TT claims qt4 is fast and i've seen of kde4 apps running smoothly on intel gpu's . My basis for saying it is slow is seeing an older weaker gpu (IGP ffs!) outperform my nice powerful dedicated graphics card.

One thing I can say is that powermizer does kill a lot of performance in render (not to mention ogl in general, but at least it throttles on ogl but not on render) , so that might be a factor contributing to slowness, however in render benchmarks even with powermizer disabled (urgh hacks)... the old and busted intel igp's outperform most if not all nvidia graphics cards.
txf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 12:35 PM   #31
txf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 272
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor A.
We have one flash based banner in the right corner on nvnews.net
Flash on Linux with Nvidia is not accleratet.

Yes, why not?
Please go to youtube and open a video in full screen mode.
It is not possible to become more than 15 fps ...
according to adobe the latest flash apparently is accelerated but I haven't noticed any difference (if anything its even worse).
txf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 02:42 PM   #32
pawels133
Registered User
 
pawels133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

@NvFuchs,

Thank you. I experimented with some options and it helped with Firefox interface (not with scrolling yet, but I'll be trying to fix it). Maybe it will help with KDE4 too.
__________________
Not everybody can smoke and drink... xd
pawels133 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-08, 03:01 PM   #33
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor A.
Yes, why not?
Please go to youtube and open a video in full screen mode.
It is not possible to become more than 15 fps ...
Are you sure that you are talking about "fps"?
(frames per second)

And then: where? In the video? Screen refresh?

How do you measure frames per second in a flash video?

As for the experiment:

http://www.fuchsnet.ch./files/nv/flash.png

The fps in the upper left corner are the ones measured
by compiz-fusion. I don't know any possibility to measure
frames per second in a flash movie, but it runs without stuttering.

In the lower right corner is the current cpu usage by top.

Again: I think that this depends heavy on

a) configuration of several packages and toolkits
(which is, usually, made by the distribution)

b) configuration of X11 / nvidia

c) version of the software in use
(adobes flash player as an example)


So many people here are blaming nvidia for others faults.
Yes, the nvidia driver is not perfect. Yes, it might have
2d rendering issues. Yes, powermizer should be configurable.
(as I requested in another thread)

But as far as I can see many issues experienced by other
users must have other reasons than nvidia.

As for Qt4: I don't have many Qt4 apps here,
and I can't be arsed to emerge full blown
kde4 base libraries and applications.

The Qt4 apps I have are running smooth.

And KDE 4 ran fine on a live CD

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 03:11 PM   #34
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawels133
@NvFuchs,

Thank you. I experimented with some options and it helped with Firefox interface (not with scrolling yet, but I'll be trying to fix it). Maybe it will help with KDE4 too.
Glad to hear that.
I recommend playing around with the InitialPixmapPlacement
setting as well.

You can change that on the fly with

nvidia-settings -a InitialPixmapPlacement=<int>

where <int> is 0,1,2 or 4.

Which sets in which memory pixmaps shall be created.
If you use the forum search you'll find a good explanation
of what the different values mean.

It has, as far as I heard, heavy impact on GTK performance.
I am happy with 1, as I am on a GPU-Memory + shared memory
solution (mobile quadro card)

I recommend changing some firefox settings as well,
most of all network pipelining.
You'll find good howtos by searching the web.

Then I recommend addblock (plus), to disable all the
flash content you don't want.
So you can still watch movies on youtube but disable
all the advertisments or other flash thingies which
aren't real content.

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 05:08 PM   #35
Gregor A.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NvFuchs
And then: where? In the video?
Yes I mean a flash video in full screen mode with Shockwave Flash 9.0 r115.
Not measured. But a human eye recognizes this limit.

The 2D performance is an old topic for me.
I replace a GF7950 to a new GF8800GTS, and the new was much slower in 2D performance on the same system with a well-conceived xorg.conf.

Your compiz benchmarks shows not the framerate of the video.
Gregor A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-08, 05:20 PM   #36
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

As I said in my post: I am aware of that.
(Compiz and fps)

But there is no possibility to measure fps in a flash video,
and the eye is not a good tool for this either.

But, as I said before, I don't experience this,
the flash video is smooth here.

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Robin Miller's formula for a successful open source career News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 07:20 AM
Preparing for my first open source conference News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 02:50 PM
Now Available: Knights Corner Open Source Software Stack News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 09:00 PM
An open source analogy: Open source is like sharing a recipe News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Microsoft is serious about open source: 10 proof points News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 02:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.