Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-08, 04:03 PM   #1
v1rtu0s1ty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 84
Default DVI out on my 6600GT

Hi folks,

I've used my DVI output before to my CRT HDTV and works great. I know that is analog signal since in my CRT HDTV, my connection is RGBHV.

Just curious, can the 6600GT's DVI port output digital. If so, does it depend on the software being used?

Thanks.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-08, 12:30 AM   #2
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: DVI out on my 6600GT

(D)igital (V)ideo (I)nterface
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-08, 02:33 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: DVI out on my 6600GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
(D)igital (V)ideo (I)nterface
+1

VGA is Analog, DVI is Digital.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-08, 07:37 AM   #4
duralisis
Registered User
 
duralisis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 36
Default Re: DVI out on my 6600GT

The OP is not as clueless as you might think.

There are 3 different versions of DVI:

DVI-A (analog passthrough)
DVI-D (digital only)
DVI-I (digital and analog)

Then there's single and dual link, but that only refers to the number of pins and available bandwidth for DVI-D. The key difference with DVI-A is that there is a set of 4 pins on the left side of the connector which pass through a VGA signal, the signal itself is not digital.

Older monitors and video cards were sometimes unable to show a BIOS screen, or anything before the driver initializes, via DVI-D and so the analog passthrough could still output a signal.

The OP probably has a DVI-I cable with the pins on it for analog and his TV is picking up that signal first. The 6600GT absolutely can do digital only, but it's a matter of his cabling choice in this case. I would get a DVI-D only cable (dual link, look for the full grid of pins) to try and force it. Otherwise his TV may have only had a DVI port for compatibility and is really only analog.
duralisis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New New New New Driver - Still No DVI decay NVIDIA Linux 2 09-16-02 05:47 PM
DVI to VGA converter anyone? Necrosis NVIDIA Linux 4 08-18-02 03:54 PM
LCD DVI support in Linux drivers? salobaas NVIDIA Linux 1 07-31-02 03:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.