Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-08, 12:02 PM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunmetalr33
My CPU is the GO Stepper version, SLACR... I just got Core Temp up and ran prime95 and guess what

After about 20 secs the temps went up to 70 deg c....

I think I need a new case?????

Oh, yea atm it is idling at 45 deg c per core...

this is all running standard clock speeds.
No, you need a new CPU cooler. More case fans will help, but a CPU load temp that high means you need a better cooler ASAP.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-08, 03:02 PM   #14
Harnagel
Lurker
 
Harnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 279
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunmetalr33
My CPU is the GO Stepper version, SLACR... I just got Core Temp up and ran prime95 and guess what

After about 20 secs the temps went up to 70 deg c....

I think I need a new case?????

Oh, yea atm it is idling at 45 deg c per core...

this is all running standard clock speeds.
lol, dang bro those are some high temps.... What does CoreTemp say your VID is?

I have two Q6600s... The first is water cooled at 3.2Ghz and it hits 42C under load. The second is in an open case with a Scythe Infinity and it doesn't go above 45C under full load at 3.0Ghz.

You should probably get a different cooler, the ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme is by far the most popular choice.

To start with maybe you could take the cover off the case and see what kind of temps you get. If that deosn't help dramatically you should also make sure that your heatsink is properly mounted, your temps seem too high even for the stock cooler at 2.4Ghz.
__________________
Q6600-G0 @ 3.6 |GA-X38-DS4 | 4x2048MB DDR2-800 | Raptor 150 | BFG 8800GTS 512MB
Harnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-08, 10:31 PM   #15
gunmetalr33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

I just got a Antec 900 and the core idle temps have now dropped to 36 Deg C. So thats about 10 Deg C under what my old case was producing.

After running prime95 for about 5 min the temps slowing started to reach 70 Deg c again but at least this did not happed after only 20 sec like the old box.

I am starting to think my mate who originally put this system together did not use that heat paste stuff that you put between your heat sink and the CPU as I don't remember suppling him with any and I don't think he would have had any lying around. Could that be the reason for the high temps???

cheers,

Andy.
gunmetalr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-08, 11:17 PM   #16
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunmetalr33
I just got a Antec 900 and the core idle temps have now dropped to 36 Deg C. So thats about 10 Deg C under what my old case was producing.

After running prime95 for about 5 min the temps slowing started to reach 70 Deg c again but at least this did not happed after only 20 sec like the old box.

I am starting to think my mate who originally put this system together did not use that heat paste stuff that you put between your heat sink and the CPU as I don't remember suppling him with any and I don't think he would have had any lying around. Could that be the reason for the high temps???

cheers,

Andy.
If you didn't have any thermal paste your system would not idle that low.

Those temps are normal, in my case I would get about the same on the stock cooler mainly due to the CPU VID being so high (I got unlucky).
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-08, 12:42 AM   #17
Harnagel
Lurker
 
Harnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 279
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

The stock cooler comes with some thermal paste already on it, it's not very good but it's there. I still think your temps are a bit high. Did you have a chance to read the the VID from CoreTemp? Regardless, it looks like you're going to need to get yourself a new CPU heatsink and fan, go for the TRUE.
__________________
Q6600-G0 @ 3.6 |GA-X38-DS4 | 4x2048MB DDR2-800 | Raptor 150 | BFG 8800GTS 512MB
Harnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-08, 04:08 AM   #18
gunmetalr33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Core Temp reports the VID at 1.2875v at idle.

CPUZ has the core voltage at 1.152v at idle and the multiplier at x 6.0 with a core speed of 1600. Of course this increases under load to 2400.

are these voltages normal???

thanks again everyone.
gunmetalr33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-08, 04:41 PM   #19
Harnagel
Lurker
 
Harnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 279
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunmetalr33
Core Temp reports the VID at 1.2875v at idle.

CPUZ has the core voltage at 1.152v at idle and the multiplier at x 6.0 with a core speed of 1600. Of course this increases under load to 2400.

are these voltages normal???

thanks again everyone.
The VID on your CPU is alright, not great but not as bad as the 1.3000v on one of my quads. Your voltages don't seem abnormal, so I would say just get some better cooling for your CPU.
__________________
Q6600-G0 @ 3.6 |GA-X38-DS4 | 4x2048MB DDR2-800 | Raptor 150 | BFG 8800GTS 512MB
Harnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-08, 08:34 PM   #20
gunmetalr33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Yea I guess cooling the CPU better would be the right approach. ATM I don't need to OC the CPU yet as it plays games like Crisis fine on 1280 res with max everything except AA is set to X4 not X8...

Is their a noticeable difference going from the stock 2.4 to 3.0 in performance that is?
gunmetalr33 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-01-08, 11:30 PM   #21
Harnagel
Lurker
 
Harnagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 279
Default Re: My setup and how to improve it

Hmmm, I don't game all that much so I couldn't really tell you.
__________________
Q6600-G0 @ 3.6 |GA-X38-DS4 | 4x2048MB DDR2-800 | Raptor 150 | BFG 8800GTS 512MB
Harnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.