Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-08, 05:48 AM   #1
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

Finally ,got my new Yorkfield.. QX9650 and got it very easily to 4ghz in the first try.. It was easier that i though .. using an asus P5E ... that was 10x400mhz... cpucore voltage from the default 1.2->to 1.4v. I was able to reach up to 4.15Ghz!! ON AIR.. but when testing 3d graphics aplications HEAVY renderings.. it crash to the desktop. So for now i will be fine with
4ghz.

im using a very cheap fan/heatsink ~$25.. that didnt look in anyway better than the standar cooler of the processor ,since both the heatsink and fan are almost twice the size of the one i got.. the only reason that im using it ,its because it pulls air to the back of the case.

my question is .. when testing the stability and temps of my cpu.. with everest@
the temps went from 48 C processors iddle.. up to 69-70 C average . and that was after 15minutes of punishing all my cpus all all times at 100% in professional renderings aplications.

My question is what are the safe range temperatures for a quadcore yorkfield?
The test i used arent representative of gaming scenerarios ,where you have only ONE or TWO procesors working and with ramdom stress of the cpu.

20 more degress from cold boot doesnt look like something i should panic..
but was wondering if i could push it alittle more and perhaps sacrifice heat and get it running up tp 4.2-4.4Ghz albeit raising a little bit the Vcore.

any ideas ?


The processor its an overcloking beast.. so 4GHZ its far from what the cpu can do. have heard reviews doing 4.2 GHz on air.. and reports of sucess at 5.5GHZ!!++ but using extreme cooling.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=163803
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 06:14 AM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

http://processorfinder.intel.com/Det...px?sSpec=SLAN3
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 06:23 AM   #3
krokodil
Null Byte Bug Hunter
 
krokodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N 49 52'19", E 8 38'17", Germany
Posts: 79
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

You're way out of the specs!!!!!

http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sspec=slan3

You should not go beyond 60 degrees Celsius with this cpu to have a stable system.
__________________

GA-EX38-DS5 | Core 2 Q9450 | AC Freezer 7 Pro | 2x KVR800D2E5/2G | ZOTAC GeForce 8800GT AMP!
4x HDP725032GLA360 RAID-10 | Enermax PRO82+ 525W | CoolerMaster RC-590

GA-EX58-UD5 | Core i 7-940 | CoolerMaster V8 | KHX12800D3LLK3/6GX | ZOTAC GeForce GTX 280
4x WD10EADS RAID-10 | Enermax REVOLUTION85+ 850W | CoolerMaster RC-600

ZOTAC GeForce 9300-ITX WiFi | Celeron E3200 | 2x KVR800D2E5/2G | SSDSA2MH160G2
WD10EADS | GGC-H20L | Enermax PRO82+ 385W | Lian Li PC-Q07B | Boy this box is cramped
krokodil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 06:24 AM   #4
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

We have a Benchmarking & Overclocking area;

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 07:53 AM   #5
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

64.5C according to the specs, but that is the maximum case temperature, not actual core temperatures. Also, watch the vcore, 1.3625V is the specified max for the 45nm chips, unlike the 65nm ones that have a higher 1.5V max.

Check out this temperature guide:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/22...perature-guide
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 07:14 PM   #6
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
64.5C according to the specs, but that is the maximum case temperature, not actual core temperatures. Also, watch the vcore, 1.3625V is the specified max for the 45nm chips, unlike the 65nm ones that have a higher 1.5V max.

Check out this temperature guide:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/22...perature-guide

well in that case my temps are a LOT LOWER than what i told.. because i was using junction temps of individuals cores....

for example right now while typing ,im on the middle of a heavy cpu test
and my temps using everest are..

40 C for "cpu temp"
67 C for "Cpu#1Core#4" temp ,which is alwas 1-2 degress higher than the temps in others.

the "cpu temp" is the same that the Bios display ,but i never trusted in that reading because it also says my motherboard temp is about 17C MORE than my cpu. on iddle. So how could my motherboard have more heat than my CPU ? on load things change.. the "CPU temps" increase 10-15 degreess while the motherboard doesnt change.

But somehow i think Intel specs for the yorkfield are for internal core temps because when i lower the vcore voltage to their max normal operation settings (~1.35v) ,i also get temps similar to their "thermal voltage" ie.. ~65C-66C .

coincidence?
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 11:13 PM   #7
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

BIOS/CPU temps are not accurate. According to the guide I posted, there should only be a 5C difference between Tcase Tjunciton during load, not 20C.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 09:31 AM   #8
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: QX9650 3Ghz@ 4.Ghz on air temps.. any help ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro
BIOS/CPU temps are not accurate. According to the guide I posted, there should only be a 5C difference between Tcase Tjunciton during load, not 20C.

Well that guide was a good start for me.. thanks for the info..
However... left me more questions than answers.. after more google search
found interesting info...

THe author of CORETEmp program says that article is outdated and wrong at times and the updated article too.. (not avaialble for non-members). And Contrary to the article Intel and AMD released information (albeit recently ) to clarify people doubts about this.

The article says "you should not" go beyond the max-safe CPUcore voltage ,but thats not true either .there are many
people running theirs "outof specs" at close to 5GHZ and more with no problems at all. What damage a cpu is not the voltage ,neither the current.. its extreme heat.. thats why people with excelent cooling can raise their voltages and frecuencies alot more than people without proper cooling. I remember running a PEntium 2 for 2-3 years far away of specs overclocked, and never had a problem.

The Thermal voltage is nothing more than thier safest conditions .. that intels recommends.. but its FAR from the limit of the processor can work rock solid . ,for example COretemp .. utility reads core temps but also TJ MAX before the processor throtles down and shutdown the system .. (just read the thread..Q6600 100+ degree celsius) where the guy accidentaly reached the TJmax and its computer shutdown at 100C.

So its good to know that before the processor burns.. and fire comes from your PC ..LOL.. intel have a security inside the CPU that shutdowns the processor before it gets too late. a similar protection that exist in NVidia and ATI video cards.

good reading here

http://www.alcpu.com/forums/viewtopi...ighlight=tjmax

and here..
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum...fm/894980.html
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.