Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-08, 10:29 AM   #13
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 12:14 PM   #14
jcossin
-=> Indy <=-
 
jcossin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 476
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Hmm, 3.6GHz is alright but that's what I've got with my e6750 (450x8). I was really hoping to see that 4050MHz (450x9) was easily achievable, but it sounds like not without generating some crazy heat eh?
__________________
http://www.cardcycle.com - Send greeting cards and gifts with a click!

http://www.greetingcardsgirl.com - Check out the weekly Free Sale list posted every Sunday.

Asus G71Gx Laptop
nVidia 260m GTX 1GB DDR3
Intel Core2Duo P8700 (2.53GHz)
6GB 800MHz DDR2
64GB Corsair Xtreme SSD
500GB 5400RPM SATA HDD
17" 1440 x 900 WXGA+ LCD
Windows 7 64-bit
jcossin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 01:07 PM   #15
kazna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 150
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcossin
I was really hoping to see that 4050MHz (450x9) was easily achievable, but it sounds like not without generating some crazy heat eh?
Heat is gonna depend greatly on how little voltage your specific chip needs to reach 4ghz. My e8400 does 3.8 (422x9) on 1.28v, but some have needed as much as 1.4v to hit 4.0.
__________________
::Current Rig::
DFI DK P35-T2RS :: e8400 C2D (3.8Ghz) :: 6GB Wintec DDR2 800 :: XFX Radeon 5870 :: SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium ::
Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB :: Western Digital Caviar GP 500gb :: Sony DVD-+RW Burner :: SilverStone 750w :: Antec P182 :: Windows 7 Pro x64 :: 3 x NEC EA231WMi
kazna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 03:16 PM   #16
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcossin
Hmm, 3.6GHz is alright but that's what I've got with my e6750 (450x8). I was really hoping to see that 4050MHz (450x9) was easily achievable, but it sounds like not without generating some crazy heat eh?
i think the issue was the voltage, not the heat. these chips hit 4GHz easily, but many of them require 1.35V+ which (if i recall correctly) is beyond Intel's recommended range.

ive heard some stories of people's chips ****tin the bed due to overvolting.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-08, 02:56 AM   #17
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: e8400/e8500

I've had mine up to 1.47v and it was within temp limits, but only just. At 4.05Ghz the voltage was 1.41v and well within temp limits, but I run at 3.6Ghz just to stay within voltage limits too.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 03:16 PM   #18
jcossin
-=> Indy <=-
 
jcossin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 476
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Well I just ordered up a E3110 (same as e8400) for $180, so let's see how high I can take it when it shows up!

http://www.tankguys.com/product_info...oducts_id=1816
__________________
http://www.cardcycle.com - Send greeting cards and gifts with a click!

http://www.greetingcardsgirl.com - Check out the weekly Free Sale list posted every Sunday.

Asus G71Gx Laptop
nVidia 260m GTX 1GB DDR3
Intel Core2Duo P8700 (2.53GHz)
6GB 800MHz DDR2
64GB Corsair Xtreme SSD
500GB 5400RPM SATA HDD
17" 1440 x 900 WXGA+ LCD
Windows 7 64-bit
jcossin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 05:14 PM   #19
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Oh yes. I depends how you do it though. I find you're better with as high a FSB as possible.

ie, 450x8 (3.6Ghz) would be better than say 400x9 (3.6Ghz)

As you up the FSB, everything else speeds up to. The memory (bandwidth) and therefore the graphics and of course the CPU.
Revs couldn't be more spot on here!

You have to remember that pretty much all data transferring in the Computer is going through the FSB This is a big reason I am going to the 790i, there have been people seeing high 500's on Stock cooling.

Which means if the board doesn't give me any higher stable clock on the CPU (q6600@3.825Ghz) That I will be able to drop the multi to 7 which equals a 2185Mhz FSB compared to the stock 1066...

(Math...3825Mhz/7x multiplier=546(real FSB)x4(intel fsb is "Quad Pumped")=2185Mhz FSB)
3825Mhz/9x multi(max on a Q6600)=425(real FSB)x4(quad pumped)=1700FSB

I included this because it confused the crap out of me for a long time..

In Cinebench I pick up 1000+ points on my GPU score just by turning up the FSB, I believe that the FSB is a big bottleneck for the GPU's and also Quad Core procs. I notice FPS increases as well as responsiveness of the system.
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 05:27 PM   #20
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcossin
Well I just ordered up a E3110 (same as e8400) for $180, so let's see how high I can take it when it shows up!

http://www.tankguys.com/product_info...oducts_id=1816
wow, that's so cheap. They're a lot more here. The P35 is a good, high clocking chipset for sure. Looking forward to your results
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-09-08, 05:57 PM   #21
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Do these chips work in an EVGA 680i?
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 06:01 PM   #22
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: e8400/e8500

Yeah. You might need to update your BIOS. You'd have to check.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-08, 09:56 PM   #23
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: e8400/e8500

I have a Core 2 Duo E8400, but I don't mess with overclocking. I've got a nice Zalman fan on there with Arctic Silver 5, so if I ever want to...I can. I just don't feel the need to overclock and void warranty and have errors and such in games.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.