Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-08, 09:40 AM   #1
boxterduke
Registered User
 
boxterduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: T.O.
Posts: 73
Default Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

Hey guys, I've recently been having a strange problem with my computer.

Its rig2 in my sig.

Computer was running fine the night before and then I just moved it to the other side of the desk and it stopped loading windows.
The computer turns on and fans/psu/cpu fan/video card fan and light are on. When turning it on, It just does not display anything on the screen. The monitor has the amber light and does not go to green like its not getting a signal.

At first I thought the video card so I put in an old gefore 3200ti and the computer turned on just fine. I did not have another pc with an agp slot to test so after a couple of days, I put in the 6800gt in again and the issue happened again. At that point I thought for sure, that the issue is with the video card, so I put in the 3200ti again but had the same issue.

I started messing around and strange thing would happen, if I unplug the mouse, the computer would start. I put it back in and then put the 3200ti and the computer would get the issue. I unplug the floppy and put in the 6800gt and the computer would start and then if I use a different mouse for example, the issue happens.

I think I know what the issue is but before I put it here and steer the thread in that direction, I thought I would see if others have any ideas. One think I know that its not a psu issue since I unplugged everything that is unessessary and just left in one HD, no sound no nic, no additional usb cards and that still did not work.

As of now, the computer has the issue and nothing I do is making it to actually start the monitor (give signal to it). Last night I unplugged everything and just kept the ram/cpu/video card but it did not work. I swapped ram around and unplugged then and tested with 512 each set of ram but with no luck.

Before leaving to work today, I unplugged the cmos battery to see if that does anything.

Any ideas?
__________________
Rig1: Intel Q6600 G0|Asus P5K|4GB OCZ DDR2 800|BFG 8800GT OC2|Audigy2 ZS|500GB Seagate|DVD|Coolermaster Cosmos 1000|Windows Vista|
Rig2: Intel P4 2.6|Asus P4T-E|1GB Rambus PC-800|Asus 6800GT|Audigy Platinum|80GB WD|250GB Seagate|Plextor PX-708A|Antec Black|Windows XP|
boxterduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 10:07 AM   #2
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,058
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

What is your PSU and how old is it. can you get to Bios and look at your 12v, 5v & 3v readings?
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 10:35 AM   #3
boxterduke
Registered User
 
boxterduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: T.O.
Posts: 73
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
What is your PSU and how old is it. can you get to Bios and look at your 12v, 5v & 3v readings?
My PSU is an Antec SmartPower, 350 watt. Its about 5 years old.

As for the readings, if the problem happens, then nothing shows on the monitor and I cannot even get to the bios.

Its like the monitor not getting any signal.
__________________
Rig1: Intel Q6600 G0|Asus P5K|4GB OCZ DDR2 800|BFG 8800GT OC2|Audigy2 ZS|500GB Seagate|DVD|Coolermaster Cosmos 1000|Windows Vista|
Rig2: Intel P4 2.6|Asus P4T-E|1GB Rambus PC-800|Asus 6800GT|Audigy Platinum|80GB WD|250GB Seagate|Plextor PX-708A|Antec Black|Windows XP|
boxterduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 10:43 AM   #4
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,058
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

I still am leaning toward PSU or MB.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-08, 11:51 AM   #5
boxterduke
Registered User
 
boxterduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: T.O.
Posts: 73
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet
I still am leaning toward PSU or MB.
I'm going to have to find me a PSU that has that extra plug that a p4t-e needs, those things are scarce.

I was thinking the mobo as well but once you asked about the psu and saw in another thread that the psu might give power to fans but not actually able to boot the pc then that got me thinking.

The psu I need should have a auxiliary power connector
http://www.playtool.com/pages/psucon...ctors.html#aux
__________________
Rig1: Intel Q6600 G0|Asus P5K|4GB OCZ DDR2 800|BFG 8800GT OC2|Audigy2 ZS|500GB Seagate|DVD|Coolermaster Cosmos 1000|Windows Vista|
Rig2: Intel P4 2.6|Asus P4T-E|1GB Rambus PC-800|Asus 6800GT|Audigy Platinum|80GB WD|250GB Seagate|Plextor PX-708A|Antec Black|Windows XP|
boxterduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-08, 01:50 AM   #6
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

I vote PSU is the problem too
Ive had simalar issues with my last rig (a64 3400+ 6800agp 4hdds and one dvd etc) when the old 350w psu went bad.
Thing is, as PSUs ages, they loose power and perform a bit less.
In my case I got picture but harddrives and dvd would cause problems when all was connected. (CPU fan would stop when I ejected the DVD and such)
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-08, 01:03 PM   #7
boxterduke
Registered User
 
boxterduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: T.O.
Posts: 73
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

Thanks for the input guys.

Update on the issue. I got home yesterday and put in the cmos battery and tried to start the computer but got the same results where everything is spinning but nothing on the screen.

I unplugged the auxiliary connector and to my surprise the computer started I turned it off and plugged in the rest of the HDs sound and nic and turned it back on and I got the issue again.

I plugged in the auxiliary connector and the computer started.

I installed xp and and some drivers and all was working fine. This morning when I got up, I tried it and it booted just fine.

I think if I touch it or just insert a usp device or even just change the mouse then I would get the issue again.

I will leave it as is now and update you if the situation arose again.

Thanks guys
__________________
Rig1: Intel Q6600 G0|Asus P5K|4GB OCZ DDR2 800|BFG 8800GT OC2|Audigy2 ZS|500GB Seagate|DVD|Coolermaster Cosmos 1000|Windows Vista|
Rig2: Intel P4 2.6|Asus P4T-E|1GB Rambus PC-800|Asus 6800GT|Audigy Platinum|80GB WD|250GB Seagate|Plextor PX-708A|Antec Black|Windows XP|
boxterduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 01:21 AM   #8
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

It really does sound like your PSU is on the limit, you should consider getting a new one while the puter still works and don't push your luck.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-17-08, 01:34 AM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

I'd check the capacitors on your motherboard. They are the tall cylinders that look like small AA batteries. They should be clean, shiny and FLAT on top and there should be no bulges, cracks or any goo coming out of the base or top.

If you see this:



You need a new motherboard.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-08, 01:14 PM   #10
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Computer issue, it was working all fine :(

I'm pretty sure its the PSU. That's a pretty low wattage and I've had similar symptoms from a bad PSU. You can take it to a computer shop where they have a tool to test if it still works or not.
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
3D emitter lockups, Computer not locked up DragonDru NVIDIA Linux 15 05-31-12 03:28 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
RH7.3, 3123, was working, now it isn't phips NVIDIA Linux 2 10-03-02 02:08 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.