Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-08, 10:46 AM   #229
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet
Wow, don't know how long it will last at that voltage. In saying that though, prime stable at that speed is very impressive. What cooling are you using. I thought it would be around 90c to 100c with the Intel Heatsink.
I stopped using the stock heatsink a while ago, it was too risky. (it even used Intel thermal paste..) I saw 71c @ the 3.6ghz in mysig on it.


Yah the vcore was pretty scary! It took 1.7v to be stable @ 4.2Ghz wish my mobo had some more juice!

I settled on 3.875 @1.4v as my 24/7 clock, although I am going to make a few runs of 3dmark @ 4.2 just to see what happens.

Currently I am using watercooling, DD TDX block (nozzled) on dual pass 2x120 Rad and a DDC pump 4-Yate Loon 120's in a push/pull.

4.2ghz @ 1.7v was 70c max load
3.875Ghz@ 1.4v is low 40's max load

I am starting aquire part for a phase change setup that should be up this summer, that along with some mobo vmods I hope to have a quad in the mid 4ghz range. This OC'ing thing gets more addicting everyday....
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-08, 08:14 PM   #230
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

I'm having trouble getting back to +3.15GHz speeds. My OC used to be stable at 3.6GHz but then I flashed my BIOS version to v2.0 and my CPU maxed out at 3.15GHz, so I flashed back to v1.0. I still can't go over 3.15GHz. My voltage is at 1.45 and my CPU idles at 28 Celsius at 3.0GHz (FSB 333x11). Could it be my RAM? I never messed with my RAM timings when I got it to a stable 3.6GHz. I don't know what voltage to play around with.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 11:27 AM   #231
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Sigh. Apparently my Q6600 sucks. I'm stable at 3.2 with Auto voltage in the BIOS, but if I try to go to 3.4 even if I set the voltage to 1.65 in the BIOS (which under load gives me about 1.55V) it's still not stable.

I don't see how it could be my board or RAM holding me back since neither of them is being pushed much (RAM is actually below spec). This is what happens when an AMD fanboy sells his soul to Intel.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 01:34 PM   #232
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Q6700 running 3.33Ghz voltage 1.26V, Multiplayer 10x.

I'm really happy with this CPU.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 07:02 PM   #233
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=350049

__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 07:32 PM   #234
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemecb
Sigh. Apparently my Q6600 sucks. I'm stable at 3.2 with Auto voltage in the BIOS, but if I try to go to 3.4 even if I set the voltage to 1.65 in the BIOS (which under load gives me about 1.55V) it's still not stable.

I don't see how it could be my board or RAM holding me back since neither of them is being pushed much (RAM is actually below spec). This is what happens when an AMD fanboy sells his soul to Intel.
Yea, I would be pissed too if I could ONLY get a 33% overclock...

I'm hoping to get 3.0 stable once my stuff comes in. Anything above that is just bonus.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 07:37 PM   #235
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
Yea, I would be pissed too if I could ONLY get a 33% overclock...

I'm hoping to get 3.0 stable once my stuff comes in. Anything above that is just bonus.
Scoring a G0 is a bonus, dude.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-08, 11:55 PM   #236
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
Yea, I would be pissed too if I could ONLY get a 33% overclock...

I'm hoping to get 3.0 stable once my stuff comes in. Anything above that is just bonus.
Meh, it would be fine if I were getting it on stock cooling and stuff like I did with my previous ones, but I went all out on the heat sink to keep it cool this time and got basically nothing out of it because the processor hit a wall. Temps are very good though.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-02-08, 02:43 PM   #237
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Umm, what are the risks of an overclock that is fully stable for long play hours, but not nearly stable in orthos or prime95?
__________________
i5 2500K - Asus Maximus IV Extreme - 8Gb Corsair Platinum @ 2133MHz - GTX 680 - WD Velociraptor 300Gb + WD Black 1Tb - OCZ Vertex 2 90Gb - TT ToughPower 850W - Corsair 800D
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-08, 02:57 PM   #238
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by H3avyM3tal
Umm, what are the risks of an overclock that is fully stable for long play hours, but not nearly stable in orthos or prime95?

random crashes.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-08, 03:08 PM   #239
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2
random crashes.
Can these crashes harm the cpu? or other hardware?
__________________
i5 2500K - Asus Maximus IV Extreme - 8Gb Corsair Platinum @ 2133MHz - GTX 680 - WD Velociraptor 300Gb + WD Black 1Tb - OCZ Vertex 2 90Gb - TT ToughPower 850W - Corsair 800D
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-08, 04:05 PM   #240
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Kentsfield/Quad-Core Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by H3avyM3tal
Can these crashes harm the cpu? or other hardware?
While you aren't taxing your hardware like Prime95 might, that doesn't mean it still isn't overclocked and thus bound to fail sooner then rather then later. If you are counting on your system for important things like work, school, or it's your only machine I wouldn't O/C at all.

If it is merely a gaming machine then it's not such a big issue, most people make the mistake of not having a backup and they pony up money they don't have to fix a dead part on the fly to keep doing what they are doing...don't get sucked into this situation.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 09:16 PM
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 01:00 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 03:50 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 09:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.