Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-08, 08:58 PM   #13
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: q9450 temp question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar
Well, that's not exactly the Q9450 now is it?
Actually, CPU stepping has nothing to do with it. It all depends on the program. I downloaded Real Temp and it shows TjMax for my QX9650 C0 as 95C as well. It also shows 95C for the Q6600, so looks like it defaults to 95C for everything, but in the .ini file, it allows you to manually adjust the value for TjMax.

I also found this:
Quote:
Intel does not publicly document what TjMax is for desktop processors. TjMax is fully documented for their Mobile processors but not for their desktop Core processors. Without this reference point, your absolute temperature data could be meaningless. Intel has also confirmed that there is no secret bit hidden in these chips that a programmer can read to determine what TjMax really is. The only thing a programmer can do is guess at TjMax and if he gets lucky and the reported temps look more or less believable then everyone is happy.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=179044

The TjMax for the 45nm mobile processors is 100C according to Intel.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-08, 09:07 PM   #14
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: q9450 temp question

I just had the same problem with a friends Q9300. It was showing at idling around 60C in HWmonitor and the Nvidia system monitor, but the BIOS shows it idling at 36C. I'm going to guess that it is probably idling at 36C unless these things somehow run a lot hotter than a Q6600 that has .3 more volts into it. (My Rig versus his rig. Both with same mobo, HSF, and fan.)
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 10:53 AM   #15
pychnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Post Re: q9450 temp question

anyway here is a update the temps gone down on real temp by 5c...



i am not sure what one gives the most accurate but right now i'm leaning towards real temp for the best information.
also any one know why 1 core is lower then the rest?
pychnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 11:24 AM   #16
HaVoK-G2
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 68
Default Re: q9450 temp question

I've noticed the same thing, been using real temp as suggested by others to monitor. My third core is usually the lowest temp reading, and the fourth one usually the highest.

Have seen people who have actual "stuck" temp sensors with the new 45nm.
HaVoK-G2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 08:12 PM   #17
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: q9450 temp question

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaVoK-G2
I've noticed the same thing, been using real temp as suggested by others to monitor. My third core is usually the lowest temp reading, and the fourth one usually the highest.

Have seen people who have actual "stuck" temp sensors with the new 45nm.
The sensor on the second core of my QX is kinda stuck as it shows idle temps up to 10C lower than the other three, but load times are within the normal 5C spread.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dragon Age Origins question Cylphid Gaming Central 3 05-30-12 07:15 PM
Quick question FastM General Hardware 6 09-25-02 08:24 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 05:24 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 11:46 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 10:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.