Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-08, 12:03 PM   #37
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Any try Assassin's Creed with these yet? Performance is awful. Dropped at least 20 FPS on average.

My daughter was watching and asked "Dad, why is that running so slow?" ROTFLMAO.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 12:24 PM   #38
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Assassin Creed runs just as it did with 174.93. no performance lost
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-08, 01:09 PM   #39
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
Assassin Creed runs just as it did with 174.93. no performance lost

Lost alot here, maybe its another GX2 issue. I'll check, maybe SLI isnt working... again. What a PITA the SLI card has been. Creating my own profiles, tweaking configs for SLI.... I dont think I would ever play with SLI after this.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 10:32 AM   #40
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
Assassin Creed runs just as it did with 174.93. no performance lost

Really?

Vista -
175.12
2008-04-27 09:49:03 - AssassinsCreed_Dx10
Frames: 7091 - Time: 112160ms - Avg: 63.222 - Min: 34 - Max: 124

a2008-04-27 09:52:50 - AssassinsCreed_Dx9
Frames: 9534 - Time: 161594ms - Avg: 58.999 - Min: 6 - Max: 108

174.74
2008-04-27 10:42:47 - AssassinsCreed_Dx9
Frames: 9705 - Time: 162455ms - Avg: 59.739 - Min: 32 - Max: 102

Windows XP -
2008-04-27 10:21:45 - AssassinsCreed_Dx9
Frames: 13671 - Time: 150894ms - Avg: 90.600 - Min: 46 - Max: 152 <------------I'll take this one anyday
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 11:16 AM   #41
tranle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

How do you people tell Vista 64bit to let you use those unsigned drivers ?
Thanks.
tranle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 11:59 AM   #42
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by tranle
How do you people tell Vista 64bit to let you use those unsigned drivers ?
Thanks.

Just hit install anyways?? lol
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 12:03 PM   #43
7oPd4wG
Registered User
 
7oPd4wG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 85
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by tranle
How do you people tell Vista 64bit to let you use those unsigned drivers ?
Thanks.
Disable UAC and install away
__________________
E8400@ 4.05 AC freezer pro 7| EVGA 780i | 2X EVGA 260 FTW SLI | 4GB PC8500 @1066 5-5-5-15-2t 2.1v| 2 250GB WD SATA HARD DRIVES RAID 0 | FATALITY X-FI PROFESSIONAL | Asus VW266H Monitor | Corsair 750 Watt | Windows 7 x64 build 7100 RC
7oPd4wG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 12:04 PM   #44
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by tranle
How do you people tell Vista 64bit to let you use those unsigned drivers ?
Thanks.
people still keep getting this confused?

every single nvidia, ati, intel, atheros, etc... driver is signed by the company with digital signatures.

If that company decides to pay money and send the driver to microsoft or other authorized facility to do WHQL testing, it is signed again with WHQL signature.

WHQL signatures are pretty much useless now, they were good back in the day since it caused many companies to put more effort into drivers.

Also keep in mind that WHQL only test one thing, OS stability, it has nothing to do with game performane or game issues.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-28-08, 12:12 PM   #45
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2
Lost alot here, maybe its another GX2 issue. I'll check, maybe SLI isnt working... again. What a PITA the SLI card has been. Creating my own profiles, tweaking configs for SLI.... I dont think I would ever play with SLI after this.
That's exactly why I hated my 7950GX2. It sounds like things haven't changed much after 2 years.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 12:15 PM   #46
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

i didn't have any problems with my 7950gx2, was quite easy. made my own profile if needed before updated driver was released.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 12:49 PM   #47
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
That's exactly why I hated my 7950GX2. It sounds like things haven't changed much after 2 years.

Turns out Vista brings a whole bunch of new problems to the fold. My card isnt the issue, it was Vista...this is just AC. Tested other games and seeing differences that are just HUGE!!!I wish I could return my copy of Vista, what a waste of money that is turning out to be. Now that Im using XP again, this card is rockin'. Just waiting for a fix to Vegas 2 which has to use 1 card to run without artifacts. No biggie though.


Vista -
175.12
2008-04-27 09:49:03 - AssassinsCreed_Dx10
Frames: 7091 - Time: 112160ms - Avg: 63.222 - Min: 34 - Max: 124

a2008-04-27 09:52:50 - AssassinsCreed_Dx9
Frames: 9534 - Time: 161594ms - Avg: 58.999 - Min: 6 - Max: 108

174.74
2008-04-27 10:42:47 - AssassinsCreed_Dx9
Frames: 9705 - Time: 162455ms - Avg: 59.739 - Min: 32 - Max: 102

Windows XP -
2008-04-27 10:21:45 - AssassinsCreed_Dx9
Frames: 13671 - Time: 150894ms - Avg: 90.600 - Min: 46 - Max: 152 <------------I'll take this one anyday
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-08, 01:20 PM   #48
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: New 175.12 vista x64 only

conroejoe, why don't you just keep that xp of yours. do you really need to keep bouncing back and forth?

its funny when other reviews around the web from respectable sites show that difference is very minimal maybe 1-2% either way, you always magically have these results.

Then 2 weeks later you install vista again, just to post another reply how OMFG xp is faster. run xp for 2 weeks and magically you jump on vista again.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
Nvidia Tray Icon in Vista? lutikri55 NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 4 10-30-07 04:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.