Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-08, 09:01 AM   #1
thito01
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default 'Unknown Symbol" with 173.08 on Suse 10.3 (2.6.22.17-0.1)

I attempted to install 173.08 to get rid of a 'console' problem, but once installed, during boot I see many "Unknown Symbol" messages and X does not start. I was able to revert back to 169.12. I still want to use 173.08 but do not know what step I either missed or need to do. Any help would be appreciated.
Tony
thito01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 12:08 PM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 'Unknown Symbol" with 173.08 on Suse 10.3 (2.6.22.17-0.1)

Impossible to say because you do not tell what steps you took.
Did you install 169.12 and 173.08 the same way? or was one via YaST and the other using the installer downloaded from nvidia?
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 02:19 PM   #3
thito01
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: 'Unknown Symbol" with 173.08 on Suse 10.3 (2.6.22.17-0.1)

I did an sh against the binary I downloaded from nvidia.com. There was a problem after I installed 173.08. To get back to 169.12, I first tried the --uninstall using the same 173.08 binary, but it had a problem, so I just did an sh against a 169.12 binary that I had also downloaded.

Originally, my 169.12 was installed with YAST, but I did not use YAST today.
thito01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 03:07 PM   #4
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 'Unknown Symbol" with 173.08 on Suse 10.3 (2.6.22.17-0.1)

Then I have no hints... I thought maybe you had some missing or incorrect packages but then you would not be able to install 169.12 via the installer either.
(the installation from YaST is quite different)
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-08, 03:18 PM   #5
thito01
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: 'Unknown Symbol" with 173.08 on Suse 10.3 (2.6.22.17-0.1)

I have been thinking. I don't remember if I ran SaX2 after the 173.08. I know I did after reinstalling 169.12. I don't know what SaX2 does in the process since I was already setup for nvidia.
thito01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-08, 02:16 AM   #6
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 'Unknown Symbol" with 173.08 on Suse 10.3 (2.6.22.17-0.1)

Sax2 has no role in this.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.