Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-08, 12:22 PM   #13
whiz187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: Evga 790i & G.Skill 1600 DDR Trouble

I am running a 790 with 4 Gig of OCZ 1600, 2 x 2.
BIOs P04. memory in slots 2 & 4, cpu 6850 & Vista 64.

The best stability I can get with the 790 is with everything set at auto, 1333 x 1333
Moving to 1600 x 1600 the best stability I can get is with the timing set to auto which puts the memory at 9,9,9. Unlinked works better for me. I think stability/performance might be better at 1600 x 1333 using lower latency.

I find that if I leave the mem voltage at auto it produces the best stability. If I push it too high, above 1.7, I get random BSD and failure to boot. I know that is within specs but it causes this setup problems. If you go to 1600 you probably will have to bump it up to 1.7.

The default boot SPD timing for the OCZ mem is 7,7,7,20 1T which at 1333 is stable. The OCZ label says 7,7,7,24 1T. Any move to OC then 2T seems to be the choice.

It appears that the 790 has no where near the stability of my old 680. Hopefully BIOS updates will fix the 790, for now, the default settings work best for me.
whiz187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-08, 09:20 PM   #14
Sycario
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to Sycario
Default Re: Evga 790i & G.Skill 1600 DDR Trouble

I had the same problem. I had to RMA the memory 3 times. I had to RMA the mobo 2 times because they took a dump (Windows won't load, constant BSODs and memory errors). I finally moved to a Gigabyte x48T-DQ6 and everything has been fine. Same hardware except memory.
__________________

Comp Specs:
Intel Q9650 @ 3.95Ghz
Asus Rampage Extreme
2x2GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 @ 6-6-6-17
eVGA GTX 280 SSC
BFG ES-800 PSU
Sycario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-08, 07:29 PM   #15
Tenente Davide
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Evga 790i & G.Skill 1600 DDR Trouble

Hi all,i have a problem with xfx 790i ultra and 2x2gb ocz ddr3 1600, i have now all in default. when i play all videogames, cod4 assassin's creed, tdu, windows crash,all is blocked and i must reboot! i update all driver but nothing changes!!! now i have xp 32bit but with vista 64bit is the same thing!!! someone know this problem? i think that my mobo or ram is damaged but i hope that is only a problem of bad setting!!! i hope someone help me!!!!

excuse my bad english
Tenente Davide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.