Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-08, 02:30 AM   #1
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Hey lads.

I was wondering if I could use your expertise again,

What is the difference between these two boards?

1 Striker II NSE

and

2 Striker II Extreme

--------------------------------

I had the Striker II Extreme before and I wasn’t really using the over clocking tools with it.
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-08, 06:25 AM   #2
JaxMacFL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 474
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

I read somewhere that the nse was your standard 790i sli board (1333, 1600) and the Extreme was the utra version, (1333, 1600, 1800, 2000)....I think! There is also a workstation version of the 790i sli mb; the P5N64 WS Professional.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz (1.40v) w/NH-D14 - P8P67 WS B3 rev (BIOS 2105) - G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3-1600 16GB (7-8-7-24-2T) - Sapphire 7970 Crossfire w/Xtreme 7970 coolers - OCZ Agility 3 240GB - Dell 3008FPW - SB X-Fi Tit Fatal1ty Pro - Seasonic X-1250W - CM HAF X RC942 - Win 7 HP x64 SP1
JaxMacFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-08, 06:53 AM   #3
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Yeah, the NSE has the 790i (NON-ultra) chipset, whereas the Extreme has the 790i Ultra chipset.

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...16&modelmenu=1
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-08, 07:21 AM   #4
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Yeah, the NSE has the 790i (NON-ultra) chipset, whereas the Extreme has the 790i Ultra chipset.

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...16&modelmenu=1

Ok so lets say I got a NSE would my score in 3DMark go down?
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-08, 04:51 PM   #5
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Ok so I made my order for a new motherboard tonight.

I said good bye to my Striker II Extreme and got a EVGA 790i Ultra Black Pearl.

I was going to get another Striker but apparently there very hard to get these days so I went for another 790i Ultra board.


(yes I am actually going to ask this after buying it)

Does the Black Pearl have water cooling blocks and if so do you "have" to use them.

also will the ram from my Striker II extreme fit in this mobo,


Thanks again lads
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 02:08 PM   #6
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

anyone?

I will have it in a week or 2 so I will keep you posted.

Last edited by David power; 05-20-08 at 07:15 AM.
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 02:19 AM   #7
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Hmm..... EVGA just got back to me about the 790i Ultra black pearl..... apparently they dont make it yet...... WHAT THE HELL!!!!!!

the 790i ultra BP costs 575 euro on komplett.ie

!!!!!LINK!!!!!

What is going on bhoys?!
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 03:04 AM   #8
omg_dastard!
Fig-roll FTW!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 90
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

komplett.ie are ****e lol.

I ordered 1800 euros worth of stuff, they took money from my credit card and cancelled the order

I then tried again and everything went through. Turned out 6hrs later they didnt have all the stuff in stock :@

So ive cancelled with them and went somewhere else. Got my delivery codes last night. Cant wait



and whats up with the bhoys.........................langer
omg_dastard! is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-08, 03:48 AM   #9
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Quote:
Originally Posted by David power
Ok so lets say I got a NSE would my score in 3DMark go down?
Only if you were planning on using faster RAM in the Ultra. If you had the same RAM in both mobo's they should be about the same speed. The Ultra just gives you the option to use faster RAM if you want, and if you did, yes it would be faster.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-08, 06:26 AM   #10
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: xxx Question Striker II NSE / Extreme

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs
Only if you were planning on using faster RAM in the Ultra. If you had the same RAM in both mobo's they should be about the same speed. The Ultra just gives you the option to use faster RAM if you want, and if you did, yes it would be faster.

That’s cool man,

So i got a X48 board in the end. also the technician from EVGA sent me another mail and said the 790i Ultra black pearl is available in Europe and not the USA.
David power is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.