Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-08, 08:01 AM   #13
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

I couldn't get it stable at 4GHz so knocked it down to 3.66GHz which seems fine i'll try and bump the voltage down further. I guess the voltage and the overclocking is having an effect on the P5N-D 4 phase power regualtors. Temps i think are decent however quite surprised with the Elcheapo Watercooling.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	core2.jpg
Views:	2188
Size:	153.7 KB
ID:	31559  
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-08, 09:21 AM   #14
Buckeye
Registered User
 
Buckeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 468
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
4.7GHz here
Dang It jAkUp !!!
__________________
New Build Coming Soon
Powered by Liftoff and soon to be cooled by H30.
Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-08, 10:22 AM   #15
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

I've dropped my voltage down to 1.29 but has had no impact on my temps they still seem to be the same? When i first boot up with the QX9650 at 1.55v from my E4300 again the temps where the same. Very strange. Infact my BIOS reads temps higher the core temp does. 47C in BIOS core temp 43C.

I was really suprised i got to 1600MHz FSB with little trouble, clearly my E4300 couldn't handle the FSB when i tried aming for a 100% overclock.

Tried shooting for 4GHz this time with 1.440v but temps have shot right up idle is 50C up from 43C @ 1.4v and underload if's 66C vs 55C.

Funny enough i have had no temp diffrence from 1.29 - 1.4v
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-08, 04:50 AM   #16
yxx
Registered User
 
yxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 151
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

i made a switch to 790i and ddr3 this week. i had qx9650 on asus maximus formula at stock vcore at 1.21/1.22 according to everst,cpu-z.

well now on stock after fresh install this week my vcore on asus striker 2 (bios 0703) is 1.21 according to cpu-z and bios says 1.28 and everst says 1.30v

im confused and also wondering how this will effect oc and wich reading is correct.
i've been only running this board a day now........runs stable so far. i thought 3dm06 was low too at stock it was 14550 or so on xp. i ran prime 95 in the store yesterday with the tech guy for 2 hours and all passed fine but after installing utilites today i notice vcore had odd readings. i'm more knowlegable now in oc'ing than a few months ago but different vcore readings make me nervous with an expensive processor when it comes to oc'ing and have not encountered this before and was not like this on my asus maximus board.

any thoughts or should i not worry.
__________________
Core i7 980X 6 core/Thermalright Venomous X/2 NF-P12
Asus P6X58D premium, 6 GIG Corsair 1600mhz CL7, EVGA 480GTX SC
Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 2 300gig V-raptors, XFI Xtreme gamer, TT 1000W
yxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-08, 12:28 PM   #17
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Lightbulb Re: QX9650 overclocking?

Dazz , you have to use RealTemp to get more accurate temperature , there was test done by realtemp creator he found out qx9659 has tjmax of 95 , other programs assume its 105.

http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/

For stressing cpu i recommend Prime95 (supports 4 threads) and or OCCT . Google be your friend
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-08, 04:00 PM   #18
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

Thats quite a handy utility and temps are reported exactly 10C less then core temp. Seems i can only be stable at 1.456v while at 4GHz temps are no higher then 60C which is much better and best of all stable quite suprised that my dinky little 750i with 4 phase power could cope with it. The regualtors get very hot so have installed a 80 to 92mm fan ontop of the swiftech CPU block/pump to cool them. It is very unlikly that i will ever stress the CPU this much but am very happy to of hit 4GHz i don't really need to hit any higher thanks DVS as CPU core would of said 70C and thats not what i would like to hear. Too bad i need 1.456v to be stable maybe due to a vdrop from the board which is why i might need extra voltage to remain stable.

With 1.440v i couldn't get it to prime more then 30 seconds but at 1.456v it's been going for 20 mins. Idle temps are 41C. THe Swiftech Compact is running at 7v also so is still very quiet too. Could try uping it to optimal and bring the temps down further. At optimal fan speeds, temps have gone from 60C load to 56C and idle from 41C to 39C with 120mm fans increased from 1000rpms to 1200rpms. It's a little more nosier but not to sure if it's worth 4C drop.

Just noticed idle the CPU runs at 1.488-1.502v and underload it's 1.456v quite a drop there. BIOS reads as 1.47v. Temps and voltages are all over the place from program to program and BIOS. Oh well what can you do

Now i know the CPU is stable at that guess it's time to up the FSB back to 1600MHz so is in sync with the memory running at 800MHz from what i hear it will provide better performance.

This board will do for now intill the Asus Maximus II Formula II comes out which looks impressive http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/200...s-ii-formula/3

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	finally stable.jpg
Views:	2098
Size:	172.9 KB
ID:	31584  
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-08, 01:29 PM   #19
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

Bugger got my relacement card but was a Gigabyte 9800GTX 512MB they could not replace it with any other 8800GTX not sure if it's a plus or not.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-08, 06:45 AM   #20
David power
Dáibhí
 
David power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 271
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

I am a little confused.

My cpu is at 1.2v and I am clocked at 3500MHz (10.5 x 333)

This seems find. my pc boots and runs cool, is this voltage too low and as a result I am not seeing the full effect of 3500MHz ?

Can some one explain for me? like, should I increase the vcore?

P5E3 mobo.

+update+

OK, I went into my BIOS and i set the VCore to 1.25 but it doesnt show up in cpu-z. when i set it to 1.30 it shows up as 1.256 and when its working on something like orthos it goes to 1.232.

Can someone explain this to me.

+update+

Ok so I have my cpu at 3676 at a 333.9 X 11 overclock, my vcore is 1.224 but i think i have it set to 1.250 in the bios.

It plays UT3 and crysis with out BSODing.
David power is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-07-08, 03:48 AM   #21
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uberpwnage View Post
12 x 333 was really easy on my board, didn't require much voltage adjustment. 10 x 400 was a bit more difficult but that's what I run 24/7
What vcores do you set in BIOS for 400x10 VS 333x12 with BIOS 1202? I tried both BIOS 1202, and the latest 1302, but couldn't keep my current FSB and vcore settings (multiplier only OC was fine), so I'm still using 0902.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-08, 06:50 AM   #22
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: QX9650 overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David power View Post
I am a little confused.

My cpu is at 1.2v and I am clocked at 3500MHz (10.5 x 333)

This seems find. my pc boots and runs cool, is this voltage too low and as a result I am not seeing the full effect of 3500MHz ?

Can some one explain for me? like, should I increase the vcore?

P5E3 mobo.

+update+

OK, I went into my BIOS and i set the VCore to 1.25 but it doesnt show up in cpu-z. when i set it to 1.30 it shows up as 1.256 and when its working on something like orthos it goes to 1.232.

Can someone explain this to me.

+update+

Ok so I have my cpu at 3676 at a 333.9 X 11 overclock, my vcore is 1.224 but i think i have it set to 1.250 in the bios.

It plays UT3 and crysis with out BSODing.
I am not 100% sure myself i have conflict of information from the BIOS and CPU-Z.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 09:16 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 03:50 AM
where is the overclocking tab. demonized NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-20-02 01:40 PM
P4 overclocking - how do you do it? saturnotaku CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 08-15-02 09:52 AM
Does overclocking reduce the life of a graphics card? Cool Barn NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 08-06-02 12:06 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.